We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“despite previously top restaurant competition, PLATEAU IS NOW THE PREMIUM RESTAURANT IN TAUPO. ”
Review of Plateau

Plateau
Ranked #12 of 161 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located one block from the lake, Plateau Bar + Eatery in Lake Taupo is an award-winning New Zealand meeting place that serves the finest craft beers and kiwi inspired food. Since 2004, it has been nationally recognized by Hanz for its excellence in lamb and beef and celebrated by locals and tourists alike as showcasing the best of New Zealand wining and dining.
Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

Don’t be fooled by the simple exterior- food surpasses that of ‘Bistro’ and ‘Bistro Lago’, who demand higher prices for less good food. Plateau food is cheaper, yet 5star worthy- service friendly and simple! Go here for your top Taupo dining experience, despite the two main fine dining restaurants, Plateau currently is simply and Subtely the best in Taupo. Trust me!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank fredanderson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2019 via mobile

Cuisine and Service again exemplary, tourists and locals alike should not miss this indulging Taupo experience.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank mattfooddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Three different mains and starters. Calamari - excellent. Lamb rack, steak and pork belly all very good indeed. However, we had to wait an inordinate time for our deserts and felt it necessary to remind staff that we ordered half an hour ago. When it came, the feeble excuse was that they had burnt a meringue. Really? Should have called time after the mains perhaps. So, Plateau, you lose a star for poor service.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank E6522CQlouisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

We both ordered two entrees each. Salmon risotto, clam chowder, grilled halloumi and duck salad. All tasty. The salmon was slightly too salty but had plenty of salmon in it. Dessert was good. Service was great. Recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank LGFoodieInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2019

It was an important night for us because we were celebrating our mum's 70th so we wanted a special place - and Plateau was perfect: although is was just a normal Tuesday night to the rest of the world, they really delivered the experience that we were after.
As a group of 20 people, representing 3 generations of taste and behaviour (6yo - 72 yo), you could say we had diverse needs.
To one and all the service was warm, friendly and authentic; the menu offered variety that suited our diverse needs; the wine list was excellent and the staff recommendations were outstanding; the tone of the place was relaxed and welcoming.
And when the food arrived on plate it was simply outstanding: all agreed that it was one of the best meals we had had in a long time. And considering the 3-course meal, the wine, the service and the fact that the staff happily hung on when we were the last people in the place, the bill was a pleasant surprise.
Based on our experience, I could not recommend Plateau highly enough.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plateau also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing