We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
136
183
72
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
136
183
72
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake taupo short walk into town view of the lake good size first floor family holiday comfortable rooms good nights sleep great spot electric blankets the kitchen the ground floor bedroom playground motel accommodation bistro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

Arrived on Saturday with a group of friends and was met by a rude indian woman on reception. Soured my day. Had I had not prepaid 1k I would have taken my business elsewhere. Lots of others options to stay in Taupo. Recommend you stay somewhere else. Never staying here again.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lemis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2020

Good afternoon,
We do apologise that you felt this way. This is one of our receptionist who we value very much. She may have been caught slightly off guard when you arrived for check in at 9.30am whilst we were processing our check outs from the previous night. To my knowledge you were all checked in and into your rooms ready to relax for the day/night with no delay.
Kind regards,
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

The room was clean, tidy and warm. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming even though we turned up late without a booking. They were happy to inform us about the area and what the hotel had to offer. The bonus was the farmers and craft market that was on the reserve outside the front on the Sunday as we left.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 749rebekahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay, the Farmers & Craft Market has been a great hit with our guests.
We look forward to having you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

Mixed feelings about Suncourt- a 3.5 on an extended rating scale. Arrival went smoothly, we had a two bedroom garden unit overlooking the children's playground and a carpark. The front units overlooking the lake are clearly the pick, not sure why I didn't choose one of those, price I suspect. I clearly didn't look closely enough at the website as the rooms have a microwave only in the kitchen, no other cooking facilities, presumably as they are encouraging you to eat at the on-site bistro. We ended up having takeaways both nights so no problem there. Would probably have tried the bistro if there was an in-house discount or similar as enticement. The room itself was fine, bed in the adult bedroom very comfortable, that's a plus. Couches old and a cigarette burn on the arm of one, which was a surprise. Overall it suited our purpose well but probably would not stay again, there are plenty of places to choose from in Taupo and even in school holidays most places had vacancies.

Room tip: Rooms with views of the lake are probably best, but you pay for that.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPhilNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Good morning,
Thank you for placing a review with us, we appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

We spent two nights at the Suncourt Hotel. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The location is perfect as it is opposite the lake and only a short walk into town. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. A very minor negative was that we had no toilet paper or milk on the second day of our stay, this was quickly sorted out by the staff. The main window in our room had black out curtains but right opposite the bed was a small window with a useless blind that did not keep any light out. This is not a major, just annoying.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazzzalongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Suncourt Hotel.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020

A great location close to town and walking distance to any restaurants.

A little disappointed with the room, very small and pokey, for the price expected a bit more. The wall next to the toilet was covered in long strands of hair, about 5 of them. Cleaners should have picked up that. Bed was comfy enough. Room OK enough to rest your head at night, about it really. Toiletries not great, if you offer shampoo, there should be a conditioner, not that I use motel toiletries. A cake of soap would have been nice for people who detest body wash. Nice to have both options. We usually travel with our own, but forgot on the first night. Getting a knock at the door at 9am on a Saturday is a bit much, asking if we want a room service. why so early??

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Hi Tiffany,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments and feedback as it is important to us that our Guests have a good experience when they stay. With this information we can better our offering.
We do apologise if you were woken early on your getaway for your room service. Some mornings our housekeeping team have a high turnover of rooms and like to make an early start. Hopefully, you asked them to return at a time when it suited, which they are happy to do.
We have adopted an environmentally friendly regime with our toiletries, which means refill bottles. Our hairwash is a combined wash and conditioner product.
We are extremely unhappy that you were checked into a room which was not serviced to our normal high standard. If we had known we would have moved you to a new room immediately.
We do hope you enjoyed some of our great cuisine and drinks in our Lake Bistro during your stay with us.
Regards, Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews