We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
136
183
71
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
136
183
71
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake taupo short walk into town view of the lake good size first floor family holiday comfortable rooms good nights sleep great spot electric blankets the kitchen the ground floor bedroom playground motel accommodation bistro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2020

Mixed feelings about Suncourt- a 3.5 on an extended rating scale. Arrival went smoothly, we had a two bedroom garden unit overlooking the children's playground and a carpark. The front units overlooking the lake are clearly the pick, not sure why I didn't choose one of those, price I suspect. I clearly didn't look closely enough at the website as the rooms have a microwave only in the kitchen, no other cooking facilities, presumably as they are encouraging you to eat at the on-site bistro. We ended up having takeaways both nights so no problem there. Would probably have tried the bistro if there was an in-house discount or similar as enticement. The room itself was fine, bed in the adult bedroom very comfortable, that's a plus. Couches old and a cigarette burn on the arm of one, which was a surprise. Overall it suited our purpose well but probably would not stay again, there are plenty of places to choose from in Taupo and even in school holidays most places had vacancies.

Room tip: Rooms with views of the lake are probably best, but you pay for that.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPhilNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Good morning,
Thank you for placing a review with us, we appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

We spent two nights at the Suncourt Hotel. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The location is perfect as it is opposite the lake and only a short walk into town. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. A very minor negative was that we had no toilet paper or milk on the second day of our stay, this was quickly sorted out by the staff. The main window in our room had black out curtains but right opposite the bed was a small window with a useless blind that did not keep any light out. This is not a major, just annoying.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzzalongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Suncourt Hotel.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020

A great location close to town and walking distance to any restaurants.

A little disappointed with the room, very small and pokey, for the price expected a bit more. The wall next to the toilet was covered in long strands of hair, about 5 of them. Cleaners should have picked up that. Bed was comfy enough. Room OK enough to rest your head at night, about it really. Toiletries not great, if you offer shampoo, there should be a conditioner, not that I use motel toiletries. A cake of soap would have been nice for people who detest body wash. Nice to have both options. We usually travel with our own, but forgot on the first night. Getting a knock at the door at 9am on a Saturday is a bit much, asking if we want a room service. why so early??

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Hi Tiffany,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments and feedback as it is important to us that our Guests have a good experience when they stay. With this information we can better our offering.
We do apologise if you were woken early on your getaway for your room service. Some mornings our housekeeping team have a high turnover of rooms and like to make an early start. Hopefully, you asked them to return at a time when it suited, which they are happy to do.
We have adopted an environmentally friendly regime with our toiletries, which means refill bottles. Our hairwash is a combined wash and conditioner product.
We are extremely unhappy that you were checked into a room which was not serviced to our normal high standard. If we had known we would have moved you to a new room immediately.
We do hope you enjoyed some of our great cuisine and drinks in our Lake Bistro during your stay with us.
Regards, Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2020

We stayed in a lake view room over the Queen's birthday weekend. This hotel has a great location. It is not right in front of the main road but close enough to still have the views of the lake. It's good because then you won't hear the cars passing by. It is also very close, walking distance even, to the restaurants. The room is warm and clean. Bathroom very spacious. WIFI ok. We'll be happy to stay here again if we return to Taupo.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2020

Good afternoon Pao, thank you for your lovely feedback, we appreciate it. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2020

I travel a lot giving talks. I have never stayed anywhere where every staff member is so helpful and happy. As we were coming out of lockdown I had quite a few questions about what our options were to still have a group of people together for a business meeting. Sarah researched this for me promptly and very quickly we were both very clear on the requirements. I really appreciated this and the free room upgrade to give us more social distancing space. Just and awesome team, thank you.

Room tip: The front section of accomadation have lovely balconies with stunning panoramic views of Lake Taupo and the mountains
Date of stay: May 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 117LindaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Linda,
Thank you for the brilliant feedback, we are always here to help and assist with the organisation of business meetings and conferences/functions. You were all a pleasure to have.
I will pass your lovely comments on to the conference department and all other members of our team.
Thank you and kind regards,
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews