We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
119
160
63
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
160
63
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an on site restaurant lake taupo garden room bedroom unit lake view short walk into town upper floor bit dated good size beds were very comfortable swimming pool heat pump bars and restaurants first floor free wifi continental breakfast a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague. It is very well located to the centre of town and the bars and restaurants. The room was comfortable with a balcony and great view across the lake. The wifi connection was very good and it had Sky tv so plenty of choices there.The restaurant service was quick and efficient. The continental breakfast was a little bit limited but the eggs benedict was great. All in all, I was quite impressed

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 115blairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipOwens, Front Office Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you Blair for taking the time to leave a review. It was gratifying to hear that you were recommended to our Hotel and also that you were impressed with your stay.

Our recent upgrade to SKY TV Guest Select with the range of 50+ channels has certainly been met with approval from our guests so we are glad you enjoyed watching.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Pip Owens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The booking in process was laboured and even though we had stayed there in the past required verification of credit card. Not impressed with being treated like a criminal as worked in Law Enforcement for almost 4 decades. Rooms as usual were a good standard, with great view of the lake. Comfortable bed and heating for the room was by using the heat pump which proved to be good. Menu for the restaurant had limited appeal. Receptionist at booking out time was excellent and the process was seamless which allowed us to continue our travels without delay

Room tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel have good views of the Lake
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank palmykop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipOwens, Front Office Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at Suncourt and I have to agree that the heat pumps certainly warm up the rooms over these chilly winter months.

It is standard Hotel Policy that credit cards are pre-authorised at check-in, this authorisation also allows charge back of incidentals and meals/drinks from our onsite restaurant the Lake Bistro. I will speak with our reservations team to ensure they communicate with guests that this is a standard policy and not a reflection on any individual guest.

Great to hear that you had a smooth check-out on departure and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kind regards
Pip Owens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

This Hotel is situated overlooking the lake, although not sure how much you could see from ground floor as we were on first floor. We had a great views!
The bathrooms in the block we were in had just been updated and were very modern and spacious.
Beds were comfortable and room size suitable for our needs, 3 people, with a queen size bed and a single.
Staff were very helpful and check in process was easy.
Hotel is situated in walking distance to the city centre.

Room tip: First floor facing lake affords good views
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipOwens, Front Office Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay Marj and the views today are just magical with a clear blue sky.
We are just over halfway in completing 27 of our bathrooms and I will forward this lovely feedback to both the Suncourt team and the hardworking tradesman we have onsite.
Please visit us again next time you are in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

The 3-bedroom unit is an old unit sitting in a hidden corner next to 3 other similar units. The TV can only shows 3 channels throughout my stay and wifi was unstable. Even the main building on the cover photo is not close to the lakeside compared to most motels in the neighborhood. I'd not recommend this motel to anyone, there are plenty of better closeby choices. Also, please make sure you check their extra person fee before it is too late.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Benny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipOwens, Front Office Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you Benny for taking the time to post your recent feedback.

Our property is set back off the lakefront with the Northcroft Reserve in front of our property so that 40 out of our 52 rooms have beautiful views of the lake and mountains without the traffic from the Lake Terrace. Our larger family type rooms are located at the rear of our property. We have WIFI extenders throughout our property so it was disappointing to hear that you had an issue with the WIFI, I appreciate your feedback and will have our IT department look into this. We previously had SKY TV & Freeview in all our rooms and since your stay have upgraded all our rooms to have SKY TV Guest Select with 50+ Channels. With regards to the extra person fee, we have contacted the online travel agents that you booked through to discuss this with them.


Kind regards
Pip Owens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here while travelling for business several times.
The rooms are comfortable and clean.
I do find the shower small and the bathroom a bit tired but always clean.
The View across the lake is great!
There is coffee and tea in the room.
The restaurant is nice enough and I have never had a bad meal there. (Do not expect 5 star but it is very good quality)
There is a bar in the restaurant and the service team are really nice.
I was served for dinner and breakfast by Amelia (sp?) She was brilliant, friendly and chatty what a huge asset to the place she is.
While you are in there check out my favourite painting ever of Dart Valley on the wall.
Check in and check out is easy and close enough to town for a five minute walk.
It is clearly focussed on working travellers and is a no frills option but it is clean, friendly and has everything you need.
I like it.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank IainRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipOwens, Front Office Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Hello Iain

Wonderful to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay at Suncourt and I'll pass on your feedback to all departments.
You'll be pleased to know that starting this week and over the next 2 - 3 months we are renovating the bathrooms in our front lake view two-storey block so you should see an improvement during your next stay.

Kind regards
Pip Owens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews