We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and great service”

Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen
Get food delivered
Ranked #4 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At The Malabar we bring to you the fine art of balancing taste, flavor and aroma. We capture the essence of traditional Indian & Nepalese cuisine and present it with contemporary flair. The result is a menu that’s authentic as well as innovative. We offer a blend of culturally rich cuisine of the Indian peninsula and the freshest New Zealand produce – prepared by our award -winning chef with a touch of his own alchemy.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

My wife and I couldn't rate Malabar highly enough - an unexpected little jewel amongst the tourist chains. The food was fresh and tasty and the service was exceptional. I left a bag there and they went out of their way to ensure it was returned to us. Don't drive past this place - it's seriously worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank darkbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malabar Beyond India, Owner at Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Darkbaxter
We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to share your feedback, Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to serving you again soon.it means the world to our entire team! Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Just dropped in by chance. Can't fault the service, really quick and friendly but the highlight was the food. Best curries we've had for a very long time, particularly the Nepalese chicken curry. Totally deserves the consistently high ratings and awards.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malabar Beyond India, Owner at Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Peter
We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to share your feedback, Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to serving you again soon.it means the world to our entire team! Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2024

After waiting 1 hour and 25 minutes we finally received dinner - albeit after asking about the wait- the butter chicken had roughly 7-8 cubes of overcooked chicken and was medium. The veggie korma was a good sauce, but there was roughly 2 pieces of vegetable in it larger than a nail. Didn’t understand the good reviews at all.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malabar Beyond India, Owner at Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Dear S5865Mspencers
Thank you for your time to review us. We apologize for the inconvenience. Regards to the late the restaurant was full so we suggest your food to come all together which would be done in 30 to 35min. But you choose to have a starter first which you get it in 20min. So, after that you got your mains in 40 min which is obviously going to take time. About the pieces of chicken 7-8 cubes is standard size and how can we just give you 2 pieces of vegetable in your vegetable korma which is impossible.

Once again please kindly accept our apologize for the inconvenience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024 via mobile

We had lunch of Indian taste and flavour served with much hospitality. We ordered Chicken Lollipop, Chicken Biriyani, Paneer Chilli along with Mocktail and drinks. The ambiance was good.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank jojo5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malabar Beyond India, Owner at Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Dear JOJO
We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to share your feedback, Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to serving you again soon.it means the world to our entire team!
Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Fantastic diner at Malabar, the food was truly exceptional, flavorful and really excellent.
We were there on the 2nd of January and it was busy but not overwhelmingly so with a nice atmosphere. The staff was busy but efficient and very friendly.
It was a really great dining experience.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F453NPheleneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malabar Beyond India, Owner at Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Dear F453N
We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to share your feedback, Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to serving you again soon.it means the world to our entire team!
Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.