We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$205
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
kpnz62
Tauranga

Waitangi Weekend Delight

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2024via mobile
We stayed 3 nights, Waitangi Weekend 2024, 2 adults, 2 younger adults, 1 small dog. Owner is very friendly, accommodating, helpful. Unit was a family unit, with easy access to the pool area. Great shower pressure. Bathroom a little dated & worn but clean.
Absolutely loved our time here. Easy access to the lakefront pathway, and lake itself. The pool is heated,not too hot but perfect for a dip. Good off street parking.
Would definitely stay here again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$208
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $233
1.6 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $165
0.2 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom unit- twin beds
Booking.com
$189
  • Priceline
    $138
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $189
2.4 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$274
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $227
  • Expedia.com
    $274
2.0 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$204
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free parking
Pool
Haka Lodge Taupo
Booking.com
$97
  • Priceline
    $97
  • Vio.com
    $76
  • Expedia.com
    $97
2.7 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $146
  • Hotel Website
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $160
9.2 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $183
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior-one bedroom motel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $137
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $278
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $278
1.4 km from Cascades Lakefront Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
411
190
45
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
411
190
45
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated pool direct access to the lake room was spacious close to town unit lakefront hosts motel mezzanine trampoline accommodation auckland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

Staff were friendly though not keen to give me extra milk despite a two night stay. Inside of unit very clean but dated like it was over due for a renovation. Outside very run down. Spa pool not working. Bit disappointed when I turned up but would be okay if we were a larger family not just the daughter and I. Accommodation in general is very hit and miss post Covid.

Room tip: I would probably consider for a large family but otherwise stay somewhere else for the money.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank littlebigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Silas Chou, General Manager at Cascades Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thanks for your review! We have been keeping the refurbishment for each room, before the peak season coming, we installed the air conditional for all units, and installed SKY TV Decoder for all units and subscribed all the SKY Sports and SKY Movie Channels, replaced the carpet, replaced new floor in your bathroom, replace some cook facilities and fridges. Today we just replaced the curtains for your units, and next week we will start the painting job. We can't finish all the jobs in one day, hope next time you will find the difference, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2023 via mobile

We arrived with a group of 20 golfers to enjoy the local courses. The staff at Cascades could not have been more helpful. They went out of their way to organise barbecues and seating for the large team barbecue. We had one evening. Management were very knowledgeable about where to go and the perfect personalities to be in this industry. They wanted our business and they will get it again 100%.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2023

On the plus side - the hosts were friendly, and the sheets were clean.

However:
The hosts initially booked the incorrect date and then made out it was our fault when it was corrected.
The decor was terribly dated and it looked as if no rennovations have been done since the 80s.
The noise from people walking around in the unit above us was considerable.
The car park was far away from our room which was difficult when it was rainging on the first day.
The party in the room 2 doors along from us was still loud at 1 am and the staff was completely unaware it was going on.
The spa pool was cold and the pump was not able to be switched on.
The TV was not accessible - no channel would load.
There was no information about how to access the TV, or about any possible experiences that could be had in Taupo.
Would not reccommend unfortunately.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LizzieMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2023

The Host was so helpful and polite. Enjoyed out stay 2 adults 2 children aged 2 and 5 and one mini dachshund. Lovely location and great walks for us all. Would highly recommend. Heated pool was a bonus

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Raewyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2023

This was a wonderful place to take our grandsons. We had a spacious studio unit and they had a family one with single beds up on a Mezzanine. They had direct access to a nice warm pool and the venue has direct access to the lake. There are bikes to borrow , a trampoline and canoes to hire. The staff were friendly and helpful. The decor needs an update but that didn’t distract from the comfort. It was a happy holiday. The motel allows dogs which I don’t like but clearly others do. It is a very short walk to a nice cafe/restaurant but a drive to town.

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alisp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews