We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$104
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$103
View Deal
Free cancellation until 19/03/21
Trip.com
US$101
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$103
eDreamsUS$104
CheapTicketsUS$103
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
452
454
196
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
454
196
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hole golf course pavilion restaurant tennis courts hot pools buffet breakfast wairakei terraces king room bit dated across the road huka falls great facilities plenty of parking a great place to stay the ground floor spa pool new zealand conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2021 via mobile

We had such a lovely stay in Wairakei. Everyone from check-in to check-out were amazing. Special thanks to Siddhesh, Praveen and Ethan for making our stay memorable. Highly recommended family resort in Taupo :)

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank piyushv2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix Witte, Guest Services / Front Office at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Dear piyushv2112,
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to publish your review.
We are glad you had a lovely stay and I will make sure to pass your feedback on to Praveen, Ethan and Siddhesh.

Kind regards
Felix Witte
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021 via mobile

While the resort is a little tired and needs renovation, the staff are very friendly and obliging. Fabulous family resort with lots to do and close to everything. There is major renovations due in about a year which would make this a five star resort.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank judier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix Witte, Guest Services / Front Office at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Dear judier,
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback regarding the staff.
We are glad you enjoyed our service and are looking forward to welcome you back to Wairakei very soon!

Kind regards
Felix Witte
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in January. We had booked a family room (we have 3 small children) but before we stayed there contacted us to ask if we would like to stay in 2 adjoining rooms instead which we happily accepted. The rooms were very clean and tidy and lovely beds. The staff were very helpful.
The rates here were extremely sharp - for our family it was no more expensive than staying in a motel. The pool was lovely and it had a decent playground.
The kids loved the breakfast which was plentiful.
The place is definitely tired but I feel like it is still very good value for what it is.
We enjoyed our night so much that we have booked a family trip with our extended family in June.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank happytraveller3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix Witte, Guest Services / Front Office at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Dear happytraveller3003,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to publish your review.
We are glad you were happy with the 2 rooms we had allocated for you and that you enjoyed the facilities and breakfast.
It also is great to hear that you have already booked again for June and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Wairakei Resort.

Kind regards
Felix Witte
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit in 9 months. I have always found the staff to be amazingly friendly and helpful. Our room 602 was spacious, had a balcony overlooking the pool and a very comfortable bed. Very clean and everything we needed. (The bedside lights got very hot and are in a place where you can bump your head)
Yes some areas look dated but this is part of the fact that it is an older hotel.
Golf, tennis, gym and pools great for families- a true resort atmosphere.
We ate in the bar one night and the restaurant the next night. Food was fabulous and excellent range of wines.
Breakfast had heaps to choose from.
I’ve stayed in some exclusive hotels during my working life and this hotel has become my favourite- it has soul

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix Witte, Guest Services / Front Office at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2021

Dear EAS509,
Thank you very much for your loyalty and taking the time to publish your review and recommendation.
We are thrilled to hear that we have become your favorite hotel and especially your add on "it has soul" makes us very proud.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards
Felix Witte
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021 via mobile

We got a good members deal at $99 per night inc breakfast which was good value for money.
The room 615 was a Wairoa king which was upstairs and refurbished and had a nice view over the pool and garden. The bed was comfy and room in good order.
We had a few problems which were sorted out by the front desk fairly quickly.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful and well presented with good coffee and the staff were friendly and professional .
The hotel is tired in places but would be a great place for families with the pools and big lawns to run around on.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix Witte, Guest Services / Front Office at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2021

Dear Steve265,
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to publish.
I'm glad to read the issues you faced were quickly solved by our staff and that you thought your stay was good value for money.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Felix Witte
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews