We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$798
Hotels.com
$798
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$610
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Shanelle
New Zealand

Gross false advertising online

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2024
Place was discusting and rund down not worth a 5star the price is ridiculous yucky ewwww wouldn't recommend anyone here for starters they need to get closed down, the boss was so rude and didn't want the customers to take photos or videos also had asked for a refund but wasn't allowed Ive seen cheaper places and better for your money not this place rip Off and dirty ewwww had friends who also went there for there wedding anniversary and the room they paid for wasn't given to them they were given a dirty room and my friends are clean freaks the place needs a clean up badly and the manager needs to fix his attitude 💯 do not go here waste your money
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Check before hand make sure your getting what you've paid for ask people if your unsure also make...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$205
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $200
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Tripadvisor
    $200
0.6 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$382
  • Priceline
    $382
  • Vio.com
    $358
  • Expedia.com
    $382
1.2 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free parking
Pool
decking area
Hotels.com
$320
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $320
  • Agoda.com
    $258
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
$219
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Priceline
    $219
0.3 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom unit- twin beds
Booking.com
$229
  • Hotels.com
    $229
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $229
1.8 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • Priceline
    $165
0.7 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio
Booking.com
$329
  • Hotels.com
    $361
  • Priceline
    $329
  • Expedia.com
    $361
1.6 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Haka Lodge Taupo
Booking.com
$94
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Expedia.com
    $105
  • Hotels.com
    $105
2.2 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$345
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $345
  • Hotels.com
    $339
  • Priceline
    $345
2.0 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $270
  • Priceline
    $247
  • Hotels.com
    $270
8.6 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
379
48
21
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
48
21
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse hot tub beautiful apartment underfloor heating the managers lake view spa pool bedroom accommodation luxury hosts waterfront kitchen bbq laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Spectacular location and view but disappointing stay overall. Building management is somewhere between lukewarm and unfriendly. Cleaners that don’t actually clean at all and a building that is well past its prime and in desperate need of a facelift. Beds sag, toilets leak and/or don’t flush, sliding windows that don’t, a lift that looks like it’s from a construction site and a pool in urgent need of resurfacing, water features with no water - such a big let down for close to $1000 a night. Don’t even ask for refills for the coffee pod machine after the first 4 are used- just given directions to the supermarket to purchase some more. A real letdown and not value for money. Many other better hotels available with same beautiful views of the lake which is the only thing going for Sacred Waters.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

It is with disappointment that I give this review. We booked a 3-bedroom Lakeview Apartment and were really looking forward to staying here - my brother had come over from Perth for his 50th so this was meant to be a real treat. It was expensive (in excess of $700p/n), so we had high expectations.
On arrival there was nobody at reception (despite me advising when we were arriving and confirming it about 30 minutes ahead of time). Nobody answered the “non-attendance” phone so we stood around for about 10 minutes waiting for somebody to show and then got asked whether we had used the phone (“yes we did - nobody picked up”). The woman at the desk seemed less than impressed that we had booked via Booking.com.
“That’s ok, just a blip” I thought “the apartment will be fab and make up for the lacklustre welcome.”
After negotiating a carpark that would challenge the best and most confident drivers, I was certainly not expecting a dirty shower, filthy carpets and a bedroom the size of my walk-in wardrobe with barely a window (and certainly not one you could see out of). The kitchen tap was also broken and the ‘lever’ kept falling out.
To top it off my mum cut her toe on uneven flooring and rough edge tiles.
The view from the living area was lovely and the kitchen was otherwise well appointed (although for >$700 per night I admit I may have been expecting some mini condiments such as butter or jams). The third bedroom was so small and stuffy that I ended up sleeping on the couch. If I’d known the size of the bedroom ahead of time I would have just booked a 2 bedroom, slept on the couch and saved about $135. After expecting such a special experience I was bitterly disappointed that we’d wasted so much money.
When I mentioned all this to the owners on check-out, Andy was nice enough, but the reaction was apathetic at best, lots of excuses about the cleaning and a “well it is what it is” when it came to the cupboard/bedroom. I would not stay here again - absolutely not worth the money. I do not recommend the 3 bedroom Lakeview apartment if you need someone to actually use the small single bedroom. And I would warn that you are wasting your time making any complaints.

Room tip: Do not bring an SUV or large car if you’re booking a standard apartment. Bring your own condiments.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 1dawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

Completely underwhelming - unclean and not the room configuration we had booked. Ensuite shower not in working order, told couldn’t be fixed. No compensation. Complex is tired. Not the sacred waters we have experienced previously - such a shame!!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 988annaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

Pretty good place for a group, great location and views, deck and tub are amazing.

Beds are pretty average, soft, rolly and the sheets came untucked so easily, the duvet slips are a disaster. However fans in the rooms are great, especially for white noise sleepers.

Common areas fantastic.

No spare rubbish bags a massive fail.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank c0nka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023 via mobile

Amazing stay! Loved the apartment and the staff were very friendly. Beautiful view of the lake and amazing heated swimming pool, gets up to around 35 degrees! Apartment was large enough for my husband and two kids. We will definitely be back to stay at Sacred Waters.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Chrystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews