We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$323
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Angela P
Rotorua, New Zealand

Disappointing - won’t be coming back

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2022
We had neighbours who were noisy right beside us. Their rap/hip hop base was vibrating through our room. Started at 3pm on and off until 10pm. Because of this we had to keep our ranch slider closed even though it was nice weather - we couldn’t enjoy our deck at all because the noise outside was so loud. It continued to move around all night. After the manager was informed, they said they were only watching rugby so he denied initially music was being played (hadn’t come up to see), it wasn’t rugby it was music. So the music went off in the evening, only for them all to then go onto the deck instead, whistling out at one point, and talking loudly. We could hear it over our TV. I don’t hold anything against these neighbours - aside from lying about not playing music. I am so unimpressed by the accommodation. For $700 a night we expected more - the whole weekend was ruined by our experience and it felt like we were staying in emergency accommodation for the night. No view in the world makes up for that. I will never be back.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $201
1.0 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$198
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
    $208
1.0 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior-one bedroom motel
Booking.com
$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $133
0.9 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
decking area
Tripadvisor
$278
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $278
0.8 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$274
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$204
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $204
1.2 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free parking
Pool
2 bedroom unit- twin beds
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $143
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Haka Lodge Taupo
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $97
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Algotels
8.6 km from Sacred Waters Apartments
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
379
48
21
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
48
21
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse hot tub beautiful apartment underfloor heating the managers lake view spa pool bedroom accommodation luxury hosts waterfront kitchen bbq laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2022

Very friendly staff, very tidy and spacious rooms. Loved the fact that bikes were provided and seeing that you are right next to the lake, made for beautiful bike rides. Would recommend staying here. Thanks Cindy and Chris for an amazing 4 day stay, will be back.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carla9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chris coetzee, Owner at Sacred Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Dear Carla,

A very big thank you for choosing Sacred Waters and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed the accommodation/facilities and our hospitality.

We are passionate, respects our valued guests and loves to go the extra mile.

We aim to provide a truly unique experience and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sacred Waters in the future.

Sincerely, Chris and Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

Second time staying here and booked again! Sacred waters does not disappoint, the rooms are beautiful, the views the pool the lake and the service from Chris and Cindy is always above and beyond, thank you so much for another amazing stay 🤍 And see you soon x

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Namybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chris coetzee, Owner at Sacred Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2022

Dear Namybaby,

Happy New Year. A very big thank you for choosing Sacred Waters for the 2nd time and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed the accommodation/facilities and our hospitality.

We are passionate, respects our valued guests and loves to go the extra mile.

We aim to provide a truly unique experience and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sacred Waters in the future.

Sincerely, Chris and Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2021

Stayed here for a mix of family time and business. This is our second visit here. We had a three bedroom thermal unit with two bathrooms. Room, features and amenities add so much comfort to your stay. I must say I always feel boujee staying here. Cindy our host was lovely, welcoming and very accommodating i.e. allowing us to have guests to visit for breakfast. All rooms make you feel special. We totally recommend staying here. In a previous stay we had the lake view 3-bedroom penthouse. Take a group and treat yourself. Once you've had a taste of the penthouse, you won't want anything less. Such a beautiful place to treat yourself :) Thank you so much Sacred Waters!!!

Room tip: quiet floors, good safe parking, good views if on top floor, bottom floors are close to pool and gym
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McRhema
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chris coetzee, Owner at Sacred Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2021

Dear McRhema,

A very big thank you for choosing Sacred Waters again for a longer say and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation.

Cindy is passionate, respects our valued guests and loves to go the extra mile.

Our aim is to provide a truly unique experience and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sacred Waters in the future. Best wishes for 2022.

Sincerely, Chris and Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2021

Lovely clean apartment. Great service. Would highly recommend staying here. The children love the heated swimming pool and hot tub. Great sunsets too! Handy location to town and many tourist attractions.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PipM109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chris coetzee, Owner at Sacred Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2021

Dear Pip and Family,

A very big thank you for choosing Sacred Waters and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities. (heated swimming pool and hot tub)

Cindy is passionate, respects our valued guests and loves to go the extra mile.

We aim to provide a truly unique experience and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sacred Waters in the future.

Sincerely, Chris and Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021

We stopover in Taupo on our way back home from Hastings and stayed a night in Sacred Water Apartments.

We stayed in the 3 bedrooms penthouse apartment.
The apartment had 3 bedrooms, a family area which could turn into the 4th room, an ensuite in the master room and a family bathroom with bath tub. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals. The living area was huge and the dining area was next to the living and had a big table. There was an outdoor spa at the balcony overlooking the lake view. It had washer and dryer to use. The apartment was air conditioning. There were gym and swimming pool if you feel like using them.

At the price of $700+ we think that it is worth for money but a night stay was too short for us to enjoy the facilities.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ok_xin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chris coetzee, Owner at Sacred Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2021

Dear Guest,

A very big thank you for choosing Sacred Waters again and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation.

We are passionate, respects our valued guests and loves to go the extra mile.

Our aim is to provide a truly unique experience and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sacred Waters in the future. (For a longer stay to enjoy all our facilities)

Sincerely, Chris and Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews