We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$89
PricelineUS$98
Hotels.comUS$85
TravelocityUS$85
FindHotelUS$93
Trip.comUS$104
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
172
148
44
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
148
44
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath stayed here friendly cat central location two single beds would stay again lake taupo long drive two nights great place to stay comfy bed bedroom motel accommodation units spas upstairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

The manager of this establishment is as unique as Vegemite but a true legend with an uncanny attention to detail. The motel is in its infancy under new management but everything is spot on. A place that has its recycling at the bottom of the stairs neatly stacked like soldiers you know it’s a place with attention to detail. Peter has a smile and laughter that will make you forget your long drive and realise nothing is an issue. Thank you for making us welcome. See you again soon. By the way the rooms were fantastic as well with awesome WiFi for those who feel the need to be online.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank anywherewilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021

Cannot speak highly enough about this motor inn. After some miscommunication from myself around bedding arrangements, the manager went to a great effort to ensure 9 people from the 11 of our group had their own single bed with 2 sharing only a few days before arrival. We booked 3 of the 2 bedroom units which were modern, really spacious, very clean and comfortable. Staff were always friendly, chatty and helpful. Half of our group made use of the spa pools which were great after a day running around the lake.
Highly recommend and will be back.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyB281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2021

Thanks for your review and it seems you had a great stay. Many thanks Peter, Stephen and Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

We stayed here for a weekend getaway from Auckland. Two adults and two teenagers

We had a room with a double bed and a seperate room for the kids with two single beds

A great place to stay. The room was small but fully equipped and very clean and tidy.

The pool and spa pools were very well maintained and great fun as an added bonus

The team looked after us well and the room was fully serviced whilst we stayed with no shortage of towels etc.

It’s an easy walk to the town, the lake front and a great nearby British pub!

Would recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PDWEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2021

Thanks for your review and we are very glad you stay was a good one. Regards Peter, Stephen and Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

We really enjoyed our stay here, we were holidaying with another family, also staying in this motel. The rooms were clean, well resourced and perfect for what we wanted. Loved the outdoor area. Great pool that the kids had a lot of fun in, we also enjoyed the spas.

It was comfortable, quiet (during night-time hours, when the pool was open there is just kid noise, which we contributed to lol) and easy accommodation only a short walk from the town centre.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakerbaker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Thanks for your great review and we are so glad you enjoyed you stay, Regards Stephen and Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

We have been coming to the lake over 25years but never experienced such a poor quality of service. On our first night, the hotel manager showed up drunk to our room falsely accusing us of sneaking in an additional person into the property when they had seen us all checkin on the day (a family of 6). He abruptly showed up at 10:30pm, banging on the door late at night not only woke up my wife and kid but also the neighbour who had to ask us all to quieten down and sort this out in the morning. To add this he demanded charging my 3 year old daughter an additional fee - even though we had seen them during our checkin and there were no issues with our arrangements. Security cameras also verified that there were no additional people and simply put we felt we were profiled. Due to the situation, we left the very next morning, which also cost us almost a day of re-packing and moving to another location. We also had ants in the room, which was weird. Although one of the owners was helpful, she hole heartedly apologised and gave us a full refund we were still were very shocked at how unprofessional their staff (the night Manager himself) was and the experience we had here - should he have been drinking on the job and harassing their guests in the way they he did? Better care and consideration should've been taken - we're note crooks but an honest family trying to have a nice holiday. Simply put this type of behaviour is not on and I urge the management team to take this incident seriously as well as step their training.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mishwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Unfortunately while we accept you did have an issue with the actions of our manager we thought this had been dealt with face to face at the time by me as the owner and I thought we had left it on a resolved note. There's always two sides to every story and I can assure you at our end this matter was taken very very seriously and all appropriate action has been taken. Morally I did the right thing and refunded your money even for your first nights stay, in hindsight that wouldn't have made any difference to the outcome we see now. You said to me I'm sure you will do the right thing, but have you?

You made a mistake when booking with your bedding configuration asking us to split beds which takes a lot of time and then advising you didn't want the beds split which we corrected for you outside housekeeping hours. You also had booked for 5 people not 6. Your daughter should have attracted an extra charge of $30 per person per night. Over Christmas we had a number of guests who saw to fit to 'sneak' extras into their rooms and whilst you didn't do that you did book for 5 and arrive with 6.

I'm disappointed that you have written that you have been profiled as this is simply not the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews