We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
US$134
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$134
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$130
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/03/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
151
68
11
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
151
68
11
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath good size the ground floor bed was comfortable stayed one night upstairs room great room handy location rooms are clean close to town lake taupo comfortable stay excellent stay two nights a great place to stay new zealand bruce
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

A long drive with road work delays meant we needed to stop in Taupo for the night. Usually we drive through as we think it’s too expensive.
I used Booking.com and got a ‘mobile only’ discount on a great room, still well over what we wanted to pay for a just bed, en-suite & decent TV but SO worth the investment. Jenny was super friendly, welcoming and Bruce was such a gentleman (behaviour lost in this modern age) even helping hubby to carry bags to our balcony room.
The room itself is well appointed, clean, comfortable and fresh. Even proper milk! Not those useless little UHT pods!
It’s location is also very handy to a good pub, shops and a supermarket.
Obviously we stopped because I got a discount BUT the venue, the people and the spa bath made it so much more than we expected, we’ll definitely try to stay here again although for longer than just to sleep.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cup1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night just for a break away from home in Hawkes Bay, The Lady at the reception was friendly and helpful.. We had an upstairs room which was perfect and exceptionally clean, the first thing I look at when staying in a Motel is the cleanliness, and it could not be faulted, We would definitely recommend Chantilly’s and will be staying there again in the future..

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Donz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

We had a trip to Taupo planned for business and booked through Hotels.com at Chantillv’s so we could overnight and drive home the following day . Unfortunately due to having sick kids we had to cancel our reservation and make it a day trip only. We completed our cancellation within the agreed time before check in but to my surprise Chantilly’s proceeded to charge us regardless. I spent some considerable time on the phone with Hotels.com who contacted Chantilly’s directly who refused to refund the charges and Hotels.com said as the charge was made directly from Chantilly’s they were unable to reverse it.
We had to get my card canceled and disputed the charge with the bank using our booking / cancellation confirmation emails as evidence, the bank ruled in our favour and we eventually got a refund, no thanks to Chantilly’s Lake Taupo.
We were appalled at Chantilly’s charging us for our cancellation when we were well within the terms and conditions & even more surprised by the reaction to Hotels.com phone call.
Stay away ! No respect for customers or NZ consumer law .
Oh and guess what we went past Chantilly’s on the day of our stay and “No Vacancy” sign was up so they resold our room and charged us as well .....

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank TravelingMatt426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah Kenny, General Manager at Chantilly's Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thanks for your feedback.
Cancellation was received after 9pm on day of arrival. Very late to cancel we believe when check in is required by 8.30pm.
Unfortunately we were not full that evening. We were waiting anxiously for you to arrive. Too late to try to resell your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

My wife and I had a long weekend at Taupo, and stayed at Chantillys motel. The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and the facilities were good. We will happily stay here again for our next visit.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

A very very clean well appointed motel. Very welcoming on arrival and the room had everything we needed. Very close to town so could walk to restaurants and shops. Plenty of off street parking Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank andy49Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews