We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
212
46
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
46
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style small dog separate bedroom quiet street one night comfortable stay enjoyed our stay long drive twin room bed was very comfortable location is great friendly owners great stay would definitely stay here again close to town motel lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

Spent two nights here while on our tour of the north island really liked it ! The accommodation was equipped with everything you could need and a very comfortable bed . The furniture was like going back in time but was comfortable and very practical . Di met us on arrival and gave us a very comprehensive run down of the area which was really helpful and there was loads of info available which was great as some hotels seem to have done away with paper and you have to use QR codes total pain !!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marydubl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

This place is very clean and is in a good location. Was provided with everything we needed. Good toiletries, linen, tea, coffee and milk.
We could have done with more space but we managed.
Yes, I may go there again.
Taupo is well worth staying for more than one night, there’s a lot to see and do

Room tip: Be adjustable
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adventure06277562025
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

Everything you need and in perfect condition. Plenty of room, wonderful shower and I didn’t have any issues with the wifi (which I have had at other places). Immaculately maintained property with lovely gardens. Friendly and kind owners. All round a wonderful and restful place to stay.

Room tip: Parking available
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2024

The true value of of the term "retro". Firstly in the owner's warm and friendly interaction, truly retro empathy. From the booking to reception at arrival and eating suggestions, fantastic. Secondly, the room. Simple retro comfort. Just great simple facilities without the modern "gadgets that frustrate". Finally slept like a log, beautiful. Thank you.
PS: And Casper our dog also enjoyed the night.

Room tip: Book quickly, limited rooms.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MartinF4317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

A lovely boutique motel off the main street of Taupō. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a retro style theme with good amenities and an excellent bed and shower. The soundproofing between rooms is good too. Includes a lovely back garden. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FL09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews