We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lowest price we found
Booking.comUS$105
Hotels.comUS$119
Expedia.comUS$119
eDreamsUS$108
CheapTicketsUS$119
FindHotelUS$131
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
148
35
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
148
35
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro decor great retro would recommend this hotel to anyone small dog min walk to town helpful owners tea coffee bedroom and bathroom enjoy your stay comfortable beds fresh milk new zealand one night little extras location is great quiet location would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2020

Cute, clean and reasonably priced room where we could also have our beloved old dog stay with us. Nice walkable distance to the lake. Lovely friendly owner. Beautiful garden. Would definitely stay there again. :-)

Room tip: Let the owner know how many of you are travelling and he will make sure you get the best room :-)
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer524935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. The unit was very clean and spacious and comfortable and was well equipped. We appreciated the attention to detail that gave this unit its’ retro character. We enjoyed an excellent nights sleep and the shower power was great - would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank globalexplorer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020

We stayed for a single night, but it could have easily been a week. The suite had all the basic amenities, but the 1960's furnishings and decor were the highlight of our week-long tiki tour. I've never stayed in a motel with this personality. We felt right at home in the cozy space, and were cordially welcomed by our hostess. Definitely four thumbs up (there were two of us)...

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcwarrington66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020

Clean, tidy and great value motel. Great spot, an easy walk to the lake and about 15-20min walk into town along the foreshore.

We stay here every year for the Lake Taupo Cycle race, mainly because we can have our small dog with us.

Friendly and helpful hosts. A quiet spot in a lovely environment.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020

We enjoyed our weekend stay at the Lake Motel. We arrived at 10.30pm and the after hours check in was very well managed and communicated. Pet friendly! We had our dog accompany us which was a big bonus.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Katsimpson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews