We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
Priceline
$185
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$181
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style small dog separate bedroom quiet street one night comfortable stay enjoyed our stay long drive twin room bed was very comfortable location is great friendly owners great stay would definitely stay here again close to town motel lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our trip to Wellington. Manager/owner was cery welcoming and friendly. Unit was clean tidy and comfortable. The kitchenette had everything we needed to make our breakfast and the bed was very comfortable. Overall very satisfied.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kylie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lake M, Owner at The Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Glad you had a good night and trust you had a good and safe trip on to Wellington. Look forward to seeing you again when you are next up this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This motel is just lovely - cute decor, nice sized rooms and great heating for a winter stay! The hosts were lovely, bringing us milk for tea, and perhaps best of all, the place is very dog friendly. There's even a little backyard for each unit with its own patio. 5 min walk to the lake, 10 min walk to town... what could be better?!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 14amandag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lake M, Owner at The Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

So glad you had a great stay and trust you had a safe trip home. Weather still a bit up and down here (springy they say).
Look forward to catching up with you again if you are ever back this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This is honestly the best motel I have ever stayed at (and I have been travelling for the 7 months and stayed in many motels!) We stayed in room 3 and the decor was fantastic - unique 60's retro by design - good quality and well looked after. Clean comfortable bedroom and bathroom - nice outdoor seating area (which we unfortunately couldn't use because of the heavy rain storms) Its the first motel we have stayed at that has a separate bedroom - which we just loved. As well as the rooms being great the owner really made our stay. He drove us into Taupo to pick up our hire car, gave us great recommendations of places to visit and even did our laundry for us. I cannot recommend this place more highly - many thanks for a great stay!!

Room tip: Room 3 was fantastic
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucih721
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lake M, Owner at The Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Was great having you here guys and glad you enjoyed it. Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Great to find such a neat, dog friendly place to stay. The rooms are all individually fit out with a 60s and 70s theme. It was just a bit cold when we arrived but the heating blankets and the heaters in the bsthroom and living room do yhe trick. Lovely owner and we will be back with our dog!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank susanneh995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We stayed for two nights, over a very busy long weekend.

Rooms are nice and comfortable, clean, and exactly what you would expect.

Excellent value for money, would definitely recommend it.
Location is not just in front of the lake, but you are just 2 minutes walk away, without the noise and the cold.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexis07803
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews