We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$156
Fully refundable before Sun, 5 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kylie N
Matakohe, New Zealand
Overnight on Road trip from Whangarei to Wellington
Review of The Lake Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2016via mobile
My husband and I stayed here on our trip to Wellington. Manager/owner was cery welcoming and friendly. Unit was clean tidy and comfortable. The kitchenette had everything we needed to make our breakfast and the bed was very comfortable. Overall very satisfied.
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $186
  • Hotels.com
    $198
0.2 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $182
0.7 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$310
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $279
  • Agoda.com
    $244
  • Expedia.com
    $279
0.2 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$160
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Agoda.com
    $136
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$99
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $98
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$230
  • Tripadvisor
    $230
  • Priceline
  • Hilton
    $230
1.6 km from The Lake Motel
Free parking
Pool
Interior-one bedroom motel
Booking.com
$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $142
1.4 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$208
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $208
1.1 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$144
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Hotel Website
    $144
  • Agoda.com
    $176
7.6 km from The Lake Motel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $160
1.8 km from The Lake Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
212
46
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
46
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style small dog separate bedroom quiet street one night comfortable stay enjoyed our stay long drive twin room bed was very comfortable location is great friendly owners great stay would definitely stay here again close to town motel lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This motel is just lovely - cute decor, nice sized rooms and great heating for a winter stay! The hosts were lovely, bringing us milk for tea, and perhaps best of all, the place is very dog friendly. There's even a little backyard for each unit with its own patio. 5 min walk to the lake, 10 min walk to town... what could be better?!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 14amandag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lake M, Owner at The Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

So glad you had a great stay and trust you had a safe trip home. Weather still a bit up and down here (springy they say).
Look forward to catching up with you again if you are ever back this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This is honestly the best motel I have ever stayed at (and I have been travelling for the 7 months and stayed in many motels!) We stayed in room 3 and the decor was fantastic - unique 60's retro by design - good quality and well looked after. Clean comfortable bedroom and bathroom - nice outdoor seating area (which we unfortunately couldn't use because of the heavy rain storms) Its the first motel we have stayed at that has a separate bedroom - which we just loved. As well as the rooms being great the owner really made our stay. He drove us into Taupo to pick up our hire car, gave us great recommendations of places to visit and even did our laundry for us. I cannot recommend this place more highly - many thanks for a great stay!!

Room tip: Room 3 was fantastic
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucih721
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lake M, Owner at The Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Was great having you here guys and glad you enjoyed it. Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Great to find such a neat, dog friendly place to stay. The rooms are all individually fit out with a 60s and 70s theme. It was just a bit cold when we arrived but the heating blankets and the heaters in the bsthroom and living room do yhe trick. Lovely owner and we will be back with our dog!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank susanneh995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We stayed for two nights, over a very busy long weekend.

Rooms are nice and comfortable, clean, and exactly what you would expect.

Excellent value for money, would definitely recommend it.
Location is not just in front of the lake, but you are just 2 minutes walk away, without the noise and the cold.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexis07803
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

A quaint retro Motel, with quirky artwork in the rooms.

The service was top notch & the beds were reasonably comfortable

It was well located in relation to the sites we wanted to see & we couldn't find anything to fault.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ryaninafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews