We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
116
26
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
26
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style door access pet friendly accommodation quiet area new zealand plunger coffee minute walk the room was nice thoroughly enjoyed our stay nice stay stayed for two nights living room comfortable bed motel hosts lake pooch
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Very friendly, clean and quiet; good-sized rooms with interesting furnishings. In a residential neighborhood (so it's very quiet) but a very short drive to restaurants. Not sure there's A/C and there are bugs outside, so open windows might be a concern some seasons.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeffp94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Kind owner and very new cabins. Comfortable beds and pretty close to town and the lake. They arranged a cruise on the lake for us and gave us the highlights of what we should see in town. Sleeping was peaceful and quiet. I'd recommend it for sure.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

It was the only room available and we debated taking it, which, in the end, we did because it seemed like such a bargain. Yes, it is small, but that wasn't the problem. It adjoins another room behind it, and there is no sound barrier between the common wall, where both headboards are located. The person in the other room sawed so many Z's that we didn't sleep a wink. Adding to that, there are no blackout curtains in the room, which are needed because of the nearby street light. The noise from the car park (especially doors shutting and engines starting) carries right into the room. It seemed like such a bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here while travelling round this great country. The location is close to town, an easy stroll along the lake, in a lovely quiet neighbourhood. Cannot stress enough how important it is for us to have a good night's sleep when we're travelling!
We had room 5, a good size with a small kitchen perfectly equipped for cooking allowing us a break from restaurant meals (great grocery store five minutes away by car) - nothing beats hubby's breakfast: fresh fruit and yoghurt followed by ham and cheese omelette with toast, delish!
Back to The Lake. Very helpful hosts did our laundry the first night and had lots of recommendations for things to do.
We would definitely recommend The Lake if you're travelling in this area - you will love it!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ailsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

The motel is located about a two km walk from the city centre. It is clean & tidy, and the retro theme adds some extra charm. We stayed recently for the summer concert - and it was handy to be able to walk to and from. We were happy with the accomodation but we felt ripped off. We effectively paid hotel rates for an average motel, prices blatantly ranked up considerably because it was a busy weekend. I checked what we would have paid for the same room a few days later and even another holiday/ busy weekend, and it was considerably less.
Couple of other things to noted, the shower box in our unit was coming away from the wall, and the 70s retro couch, while good for the theme, was very uncomfortable to sit on.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank supermummyNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews