We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
Priceline
$185
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$181
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style small dog separate bedroom quiet street one night comfortable stay enjoyed our stay long drive twin room bed was very comfortable location is great friendly owners great stay would definitely stay here again close to town motel lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here while travelling round this great country. The location is close to town, an easy stroll along the lake, in a lovely quiet neighbourhood. Cannot stress enough how important it is for us to have a good night's sleep when we're travelling!
We had room 5, a good size with a small kitchen perfectly equipped for cooking allowing us a break from restaurant meals (great grocery store five minutes away by car) - nothing beats hubby's breakfast: fresh fruit and yoghurt followed by ham and cheese omelette with toast, delish!
Back to The Lake. Very helpful hosts did our laundry the first night and had lots of recommendations for things to do.
We would definitely recommend The Lake if you're travelling in this area - you will love it!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ailsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2016

The motel is located about a two km walk from the city centre. It is clean & tidy, and the retro theme adds some extra charm. We stayed recently for the summer concert - and it was handy to be able to walk to and from. We were happy with the accomodation but we felt ripped off. We effectively paid hotel rates for an average motel, prices blatantly ranked up considerably because it was a busy weekend. I checked what we would have paid for the same room a few days later and even another holiday/ busy weekend, and it was considerably less.
Couple of other things to noted, the shower box in our unit was coming away from the wall, and the 70s retro couch, while good for the theme, was very uncomfortable to sit on.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank supermummyNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stayed in Unit 4 for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Even though it was a little on the small side we found it very comfortable. If we visited again we would choose something a little larger. Although at the time of booking nothing else was available. Tony (owner) went out of his way to help us regarding what to do and see. He even did washing for us complimentary. Would definitely recommend The Lake.

Room tip: A room with a kitchen/living area.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RhondaD664
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We loved our time in Taupo, not only is the town beautiful but it was full of fun stuff for the whole family. This hotel was a lovely place to stop at while we were in the area. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was lovely and comfortable, even the fold out bed, which my 13 year old claimed to be the most comfortable sleep ever! I loved the cheeky artwork too😉

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CazzB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

A beautiful place to be. The scenery is awesome. Why not take a "big" bike ride while your at it. Walk along the side of the lake. Look at magnificent Ruapehu. Not every day you get to see a live volcano

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 634gaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews