We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$185
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style small dog separate bedroom quiet street one night comfortable stay enjoyed our stay long drive twin room bed was very comfortable location is great friendly owners great stay would definitely stay here again close to town motel lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

A beautiful place to be. The scenery is awesome. Why not take a "big" bike ride while your at it. Walk along the side of the lake. Look at magnificent Ruapehu. Not every day you get to see a live volcano

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 634gaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Cute and quiet, my room was around the back, premium price, but it was xmas day. Host was friendly, even offered me some xmas dinner. I would stay here again, everything clean and tidy, just had a small issue with the tv channels

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CameronTWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We stayed in a King (Courtyard) Room. It was well appointed (full kitchenette, complimentary chocolates, HD TV, good wifi, separate bedroom, dining area & retro lounge) with a beautiful garden outside the back door. Gorgeous. All you need for two for a couple of days. In a residential part of Taupo. Walking distance to town restaurants (strolling along the lake foreshore is lovely), quiet, welcoming and pet friendly! Perfect for us. We will definitely be returning. Super clean and comfy.

Room tip: It is a small motel so only a few rooms - try to get one with access to the back garden.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Located a few blocks from downtown in a residential area but still very convenient--if you have a car. Nice grounds and friendly staff. Our room was one perhaps the smallest one. Kitchen space was limited. That may not be the case in the other rooms. Very clean and adequate for our one night stay.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DCMPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We spent 4 great nights at The Lake. The style is quite retro but still comfortable, very clean too.
It's just a few mins stroll down to the lake, where you can walk as far as you want. The walk into town is about 20 mins, this is where the bars and restaurants are, plenty to chose from. So we would say it's a very good base to explore and a quiet street too.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews