We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
115
26
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
26
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style door access pet friendly accommodation quiet area new zealand plunger coffee minute walk the room was nice thoroughly enjoyed our stay nice stay stayed for two nights living room comfortable bed motel hosts lake pooch
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

A beautiful place to be. The scenery is awesome. Why not take a "big" bike ride while your at it. Walk along the side of the lake. Look at magnificent Ruapehu. Not every day you get to see a live volcano

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Cute and quiet, my room was around the back, premium price, but it was xmas day. Host was friendly, even offered me some xmas dinner. I would stay here again, everything clean and tidy, just had a small issue with the tv channels

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CameronTWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We stayed in a King (Courtyard) Room. It was well appointed (full kitchenette, complimentary chocolates, HD TV, good wifi, separate bedroom, dining area & retro lounge) with a beautiful garden outside the back door. Gorgeous. All you need for two for a couple of days. In a residential part of Taupo. Walking distance to town restaurants (strolling along the lake foreshore is lovely), quiet, welcoming and pet friendly! Perfect for us. We will definitely be returning. Super clean and comfy.

Room Tip: It is a small motel so only a few rooms - try to get one with access to the back garden.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Located a few blocks from downtown in a residential area but still very convenient--if you have a car. Nice grounds and friendly staff. Our room was one perhaps the smallest one. Kitchen space was limited. That may not be the case in the other rooms. Very clean and adequate for our one night stay.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank DCMPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We spent 4 great nights at The Lake. The style is quite retro but still comfortable, very clean too.
It's just a few mins stroll down to the lake, where you can walk as far as you want. The walk into town is about 20 mins, this is where the bars and restaurants are, plenty to chose from. So we would say it's a very good base to explore and a quiet street too.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews