We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
Priceline
$185
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$181
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
46
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style small dog separate bedroom quiet street one night comfortable stay enjoyed our stay long drive twin room bed was very comfortable location is great friendly owners great stay would definitely stay here again close to town motel lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Cute and quiet, my room was around the back, premium price, but it was xmas day. Host was friendly, even offered me some xmas dinner. I would stay here again, everything clean and tidy, just had a small issue with the tv channels

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CameronTWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We stayed in a King (Courtyard) Room. It was well appointed (full kitchenette, complimentary chocolates, HD TV, good wifi, separate bedroom, dining area & retro lounge) with a beautiful garden outside the back door. Gorgeous. All you need for two for a couple of days. In a residential part of Taupo. Walking distance to town restaurants (strolling along the lake foreshore is lovely), quiet, welcoming and pet friendly! Perfect for us. We will definitely be returning. Super clean and comfy.

Room tip: It is a small motel so only a few rooms - try to get one with access to the back garden.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Located a few blocks from downtown in a residential area but still very convenient--if you have a car. Nice grounds and friendly staff. Our room was one perhaps the smallest one. Kitchen space was limited. That may not be the case in the other rooms. Very clean and adequate for our one night stay.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DCMPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We spent 4 great nights at The Lake. The style is quite retro but still comfortable, very clean too.
It's just a few mins stroll down to the lake, where you can walk as far as you want. The walk into town is about 20 mins, this is where the bars and restaurants are, plenty to chose from. So we would say it's a very good base to explore and a quiet street too.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2015

There were two things that really set the Lake apart from a lot of other places that we've stayed: the obvious one was the cool retro decor, and the other was the helpful and friendly hosts. Both of our hosts checked to see how we were going during our stay, helped us with our wifi and offered great tips on the best things things to do, places to eat, local walks and discounts on offer. They even offered us an extra night for free at the end of our three night stay, but unfortunately we were on a pretty tight schedule to get to the next place!

We stayed in 70s Room B, one of the one bedroom apartments. Loved the styling in the apartment, and it was clean and had everything that we needed. The kitchen is fairly small but perfectly ample for cooking for a couple of nights.

The location isn't right near the centre of town, but this didn't really bother us as we had a hire car and most of the time we prepared our own food to save on costs. It was only a short walk down to the lake to see the sunset over the mountains, which is pretty special. It's also in a fairly quiet area.

It was still a bit cold when we stayed in September, so the heating came in handy--there is one fan heater to get the place warmed up quickly, and then a slower heater that you can leave on overnight if you need to.

We 're not usually too fussed on whether a place has pay TV, but it was good to be able to sit down and watch a movie at the end of the day.

We much prefer to stay in boutique accommodation when we're staying outside of the major cities, and the Lake didn't disappoint!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Skyepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews