We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
115
26
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
26
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retro style door access pet friendly accommodation quiet area new zealand plunger coffee minute walk the room was nice thoroughly enjoyed our stay nice stay stayed for two nights living room comfortable bed motel hosts lake pooch
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

We came here because we loved the concept of taking the rooms right back to the 60's and 70's and offering something different from the norm of 'samey' motel rooms. We picked the 60's room and loved it, all the details were there and we loved the dining chairs and table, surprisingly comfortable... Lovely details everywhere, I loved the retro Panasonic bedside clock too. This really was a lovely one night stay in something different on our trip from motel room to motel room around NZ. All essentials ticked too, welcome lovely and personal, great recommendations on what to do and where to eat which were thoughtful and helpful. Bed very comfortable and whole apartment well equipped, nice little shared back garden too. In a quiet road on the edge of town but very near lakeside. A memorable room for once!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank maja18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

After a two night stay in a studio room, I genuinely didn't want to leave so early. This place is unique and full of style. Not your average hotel room. Being a creative designer I appreciate the detail in the retro interior design. Hosts went above and beyond with making me feel welcome. Can highly recommend a stay here. The experience was outstanding.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank KatFar1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Well, I really can't go any further in this review without firstly mentioning just how amazing and friendly the owners are. They really went well and truly above and beyond what any hotel owner should have to do. They spent so much of their own time ensuring we were having a great time in Taupo, couldn't be more appreciative. (We put a load of washing on one day prior to heading out, and they even offered to hang it up for his when it finished)

As for the hotel itself, it is just as amazing. The room was large and spacious with great furniture and fittings throughout. The bed was mega comfortable and the shower was so powerful the water actually came off my body and ricochetted over the shower screen and onto the floor on my first shower. Had to tone down the pressure after that!

If you're after a hotel with good wi-fi, this place has you covered. I completed a speed test and got results of over 100mbps, amazing! Great for people who want to keep in touch with family and friends at the end of the day!

The only slight downside to the hotel is it's about a 20-30 minute walk from the main shopping/cbd area, but this didn't bother us as we had a car. There are restaurants closer as well, but the main area is about 20-30 minute walk.

As the hotel is such a small hotel there is no restaurant or anything attached, but there are cooking facilities in the room along with a bbq area outside. (But you shouldn't eat at the hotel, go try some of the amazing food places in town, including Dixie Browns, Bistro and Lotus Thai just to name a few (All great recommendations from the owners of the hotel as well)

I would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Taupo! Did I mention the owners are the most friendly and helpful people I have met!?

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Evan1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The motel is very nicely decorated and renovated. We had a room at the back and it was lovely. Tony our host is really nice, friendly and very helpful. He suggested to us places to visit and restaurants to eat. He goes out of his way to help.

The room and bathroom was nice. There is even a microwave, plunger coffee among other standard stuff. The room was warm and the bed was comfy. Walking distance to Lake Taupo.

A couple of imperfections - hot water and we could not connect to the Wifi as the signal was bad at the back.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank southsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Quiet and welcoming pet-friendly motel located in a quiet suburb at the eastern end of Taupo. Rooms fitted out in retro-style. Ours was large and well appointed, and Charlie our dog had no trouble settling in. Close to the lake, so an easy walk along the shore. Unless you are super fit, you might need the car to get back into the ton centre for the bars, cafes, shops etc.

Stayed: August 2015
2  Thank EDEBAuckland_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews