We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$659
Algotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
travelfan2019
Whanganui, New Zealand

Great value plenty of spac3

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Oct 2021
I have just seen a review by Justplanemad and everything they said I agree with except
1. There are two carports for each property, only one is numbered though
2. For what you pay the kitchen is fine, if you're cooking cordon posh, not the place
3. Having more than one place to sit in the lounge was appreciated. I've stayed in places that are bigger with only one couch, no other chair
4. The extractor fans are loud, so we used the other light and left the windows open
5. The upstairs TV is fuzzy but was a surprise and we did watch a movie on it.
6. Its an easy flat amble to town along the lakefront
7. There are many restaurants close by, the pub around the corner has a lovely garden bar,does excellent cocktails and ok pub food
8. We thought one bedroom two bathroom was a real bonus and the sunny bedroom, French doors and balcony, again lovely.

We like space and at 70 m2 it's way bigger than a motel unit. It's not super flash and the downstairs space is tight for two couples if the 2nd bedroom was unlocked.

However you would have a bathroom each and some privacy the way it's laid out.

If you like to get out to do things and eat, then this is great value for money.
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
$200
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $191
  • Agoda.com
    $164
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
2.0 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom unit- twin beds
Booking.com
$229
  • Hotels.com
    $229
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $229
0.5 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Haka Lodge Taupo
Booking.com
$94
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $87
  • Hotels.com
    $94
0.7 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
decking area
Expedia.com
$320
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $258
  • Hotels.com
    $320
0.7 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$202
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $182
  • Priceline
    $203
0.1 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $293
  • Expedia.com
    $298
  • Priceline
    $298
0.5 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
$219
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Vio.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $219
1.8 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$382
  • Priceline
    $382
  • Vio.com
    $357
  • Expedia.com
    $383
2.2 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$177
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $179
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Priceline
    $177
2.1 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $230
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Expedia.com
    $230
7.4 km from Voyager Apartments Taupo
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
58
36
23
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
58
36
23
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2020 via mobile

One night stay here at Voyager Apartments. Got a very sharp last minute price via the website. I was looking forward to a stay in what was pictured to be a lovely spacious apartment.

Parking is directly outside the unit, not sure what you would do if there were two families staying as there is only one car park allocated per unit. Would probably have to park on the road I guess.

Down stairs is a room that houses a couch, easy chair, TV, 4 seater Table and Chairs and a small Kitchenette. To call it a kitchen would be a stretch. You could cook a meal, but it's not a full sized kitchen. Small Bar Fridge, small oven and dish draw. Under the stairs is a combined washer/drier unit. I took the chance after several days on the road. Not matter what I tried, clothes always came out smelling funny. Sent them through several times with always the same result.

Behind a locked door was what I assumed is a second bedroom. I had only booked a one bedroomed apartment so that was all good. There is also a small bathroom with a toilet and shower. Upstairs is a large bedroom with french doors out to a wonderful balcony, and bi fold doors into a bathroom with a large spa bath and a toilet. Spa bath had a shower head attached to the tub, but for a proper shower you have to go downstairs. King Sized bed with a small TV wall mounted by the wardrobe.

The Good:

Great Location, close enough to the lake, but without the road noise that comes with being on Lake Tce. Short driving distance to town.

Good Linen, sheets and towels ect.

Very clean and tidy

Friendly staff

Small swimming pool which is a delight.

The Bad:

The extractor fans in both bathrooms are SO DAMN NOISEY. Cannot hear yourself think. A spa bath with a horrendous whiring extractor fan was in no way relaxing. Could even hear it over the noise of the shower.

There is a window high up above the stair well, which is near enough facing east. No blind or anything over this which let in SOO much light into the bedroom early.

Wallpaper throughout the apartment was peeling and needs attention.

TV in bedroom was super fuzzy and nearly unwatchable.

It just feels dated and tired. It is in need of some love and care.

Would stay again if I could get a similar price, but I certainly dont feel it would represent very good value for money if I had paid the full rate. There are far better places in Taupo that offer value for money.

If you can get a sharp price though, Voyager is a good place to rest your head for the night.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JustPlaneMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Good points were the office staff were friendly and efficient upon our arrival and our apartment was clean and spacious. The not so good included the joint bathroom with the kids always locking our door into it and forgetting to unlock it and the shower leaked onto the floor from a broken seal. The upstairs smelt a bit musty. The real disappointment was the kitchen. There were only two hobs and they had one temperature - extremely hot, making cooking on them a challenge. The other thing for an apartment of this size where people stay for some time is the size of the fridge - only a mini bar type thing. Dishwasher was close to useless.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

Another 3 days at these great apartments. Always clean and well appointed with a large bedroom and kingsize bed upstairs with spa bath and a smaller bedroom downstairs with two single beds in it. A comfy lounge/kitchen downstairs with parking outside the unit.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2019

Had a lovely stay here, receptionist was quick and to the point. We only stayed one night but were lucky enough to have been gifted wine and chocolates on arrival due to celebrating our engagement. Room was clean and couldnt fault. Loved the two story, would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PhillipM1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2019 via mobile

Maintenance needs to be current.
Lots of small faults, shower seal base needed repair.
We reported on first day and still not fixed after four days.
Wallpaper on walls was peeling off.
Cleaning staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
However as we have Disability Permit we were told that we were not allowed to park in Disability Parking Spot.
The Vehicles they allowed to park there, not one had a Disability Permit.
Very Discrimatory and Illegal.
Would not recommend due to there treatment of Disabled persons.
Photos of three of the offending vehicles.
When I complained again when I handed in the Room key.
The Office staff could not explain why Disability Permit Holders were not allowed to park in Disability Parking Spot (Marked).
Still no apology or response from management.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 494trevw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews