We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$156
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Booking.com
US$156
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Expedia.com
US$156
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
eDreamsUS$156
CheapTicketsUS$156
TravelocityUS$156
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
530
119
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
530
119
14
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury studio spa bath lake view lake taupo pool towels pool area great place to stay room was spacious the managers hot tub two nights cooked breakfast small kitchen stayed longer town centre new zealand long drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2020

We stayed here for one night, 5th November. We were warmly greeted at reception and given helpful information.
Our room was a luxury studio with a balcony and lovely a view. The suite was well appointed and spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the thoughtful addition of fluffy bathrobes to wear over our togs for the short walk to the pool area. The property is set up so that the walk to the pools is through a very pleasant internal atrium type area that leads to the outside, just by the pools.
This is where it gets even better! When they say heated outdoor pools, they mean it. Even on a miserable day, the large covered spa pool was simply delightful and the main pool was warm (for this cold fish). The spa has a little water feature that regularly sends a waterfall of heated water to maintain the temperature. I think from memory the main pool was heated at 36 degrees and the spa 39 degrees.
We had a flat walk right alongside the lake to breakfast in the main township area- about a 20-30 minute walk. However there were eating options closer if that is more your thing.
Thank you Reef Resort for a great start to our little road trip!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveller010857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef Resort Taupo, General Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

What a wonderful thoughtful review - we love it that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile

The Reef Resort is an absolute favourite getaway....love the suites, the robes, the location, the two glorious pools and general ambience provided by the wonderful management. Highly recommend as pristine for cleanliness, luxurious bedding, kitchenette always a plus, spa bath and fabulous views.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank traceyobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef Resort Taupo, General Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

Thank you for a lovely review - so pleased that we are your favourite getaway - means we will get to see you again. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

A great place to stay. Great service and amenities. Loved the time spent in the pools. Thoroughly enjoyed our Taupō getaway at the Reef Resort. This is a place I would return to. Not expensive to taxi here to town for a night out and very accessible to walk along the lake front.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef Resort Taupo, General Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

Love it when our guests enjoy their stay with us - hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

My husband and I had the most amazing weekend escape at The Reef Resort, the hosts were so nice and welcoming, the room was phenomenal, it had a private spa bath and a really comfortable bed, the view was out of this world amazing!! It’s nice to know that it is child friendly with an awesome swimming pool - will be back for a family trip as soon as we can!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anonymous12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef Resort Taupo, General Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thank you for your lovely review - always love it when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Thanks from the Team@Reef Resort and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

Everything about our stay from start to finish was excellent. Rooms great, well serviced every day. Pools outside are warm and great to relax in on a winter evening. Managers very helpful and friendly. Central location to everything you need in Taupo and surrounding areas. Definitely will stay again!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BingWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef Resort Taupo, General Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we do appreciate it. Always pleased to know when our guests enjoyed their stay and it sounds like you did.
Regards from the Team@ReefResort Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews