We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed here as a stopover for one night before being picked up by family on the next stage of our holiday, our regret was that we didn't have more time at this lovely motel. It is a tastefully furnished building, our bedroom was large with 2 queen sized beds and a well equipped kitchenette. The airy bathroom had a shower over a good size spare tub. The outside pool is heated from a thermal plunge pool and can be used in all seasons. The motel also has 4 bycycles that are free. The welcome was warm and friendly ... a top resort.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Michael J

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time here at the Reef Resort. We try to take pride in what we do at the Reef Resort and it is our commitment to our guests that they enjoy their stay. Our housekeeping staff also take pride in their work and are a fabulous team of people. I will definitely be sharing your lovely review with the staff.

We hope that you enjoy your family and make the most of your holiday. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    92
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
122
288
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

Very nice, large room with spa bath. In hindsight we should have paid extra to have a lake view because it is so beautiful. However we were only staying the one night and had a good walk along the lakeside, accessed from the property.
Taupo was buzzing, being peak season, but we didn't find the unit noisy at all. It was clean and well equipped, having all you could need.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Dear WAC188

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Hopefully next time you come to stay with us, there will be a Luxury Studio with Lake Views available for you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Taupo... it really is a great place to be. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

The owners are lovely, even gave us a voucher for a free zorb ride in Rotorua (our next stop). Its lovely that there are bicycles available for use if needed. We were pleased that there was plenty of free wifi. The room was exactly as pictured, with lovely modern facilities. Everything seemed clean and it was great to have a little kitchenette in the room. There is a nice pool and and had an excellent view from the balcony. The Reef Resort is right on the lake front, great for walks along the shore. The center of Taupo is less than 5 mins drive down the road and is only about 800m from the DeBretts hot pools. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichick2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Kiwichick

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you were able to use the vouchers for the Zorb in Rotorua and that you had a wonderful time staying with us here at the Reef Resort. We are so lucky to have such great housekeeping staff that truly take pride in their work! We would love for you to visit with us again one day in the near future and look forward to it. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and once again I thank you for your great review.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

When we checked in, Taupo was very misty and rainy however when the weather cleared, we had a fabulous view of the lake from our room, even though we were in one of the studio rooms in the main building and not in a room closer to the shore.

The motel is a bit out of town - the main area for shopping and restaurants is approx 5min drive but there don't seem to be any other properties with such amazing views! On the plus side, the location makes it a very short drive to the airport - ideal if you're planning a sky dive.

The room we were in was big, felt very newly decorated and had a lake view balcony. The bathroom had a spa bath with a shower over it as well, and the room had extra towels and robes for use at the thermal pool (which was lovely!) The kitchenette had everything required. We didn't hear much noise from outside or from other rooms and the bed was very comfortable.

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Reef Resort in Taupo. We really appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you manage to have a wonderful Christmas and I hope that you will be able to return again in the future.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

We stayed in the first floor three bedroom apartment, The lake view is simply stunning. At night time, we could hear the gentle sounds of the water from the lake. Great for relaxing and falling asleep. The kitchen is of a great size, with enough utensils, cutlery and plates to put on a feast. The apartment is nicely appointed and comes with a fireplace and a private outdoor spa that is shielded from the wind. The private undercover garage is also a great addition. Two slight criticisms, one of which I have let the hosts know on departure, are the many stains on the carpet, and the fluctuating water temperature in the showers, but they didn't spoil an otherwise excellent stay. It's my second stay at this resort. Will definitely return for a third.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 25 December 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in one of your Luxury Apartments. The views are stunning and so relaxing. We look forward to having you stay again with us in the future and we hope that you have a wonderful and Joyous Christmas

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
0.9 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.9 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Property: The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price range (per night): $158 - $692
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing