We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely position on the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely position on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice, large room with spa bath. In hindsight we should have paid extra to have a lake view because it is so beautiful. However we were only staying the one night and had a good walk along the lakeside, accessed from the property.
Taupo was buzzing, being peak season, but we didn't find the unit noisy at all. It was clean and well equipped, having all you could need.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WAC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear WAC188

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Hopefully next time you come to stay with us, there will be a Luxury Studio with Lake Views available for you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Taupo... it really is a great place to be. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    84
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
113
266
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The owners are lovely, even gave us a voucher for a free zorb ride in Rotorua (our next stop). Its lovely that there are bicycles available for use if needed. We were pleased that there was plenty of free wifi. The room was exactly as pictured, with lovely modern facilities. Everything seemed clean and it was great to have a little kitchenette in the room. There is a nice pool and and had an excellent view from the balcony. The Reef Resort is right on the lake front, great for walks along the shore. The center of Taupo is less than 5 mins drive down the road and is only about 800m from the DeBretts hot pools. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichick2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kiwichick

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you were able to use the vouchers for the Zorb in Rotorua and that you had a wonderful time staying with us here at the Reef Resort. We are so lucky to have such great housekeeping staff that truly take pride in their work! We would love for you to visit with us again one day in the near future and look forward to it. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and once again I thank you for your great review.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When we checked in, Taupo was very misty and rainy however when the weather cleared, we had a fabulous view of the lake from our room, even though we were in one of the studio rooms in the main building and not in a room closer to the shore.

The motel is a bit out of town - the main area for shopping and restaurants is approx 5min drive but there don't seem to be any other properties with such amazing views! On the plus side, the location makes it a very short drive to the airport - ideal if you're planning a sky dive.

The room we were in was big, felt very newly decorated and had a lake view balcony. The bathroom had a spa bath with a shower over it as well, and the room had extra towels and robes for use at the thermal pool (which was lovely!) The kitchenette had everything required. We didn't hear much noise from outside or from other rooms and the bed was very comfortable.

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Reef Resort in Taupo. We really appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you manage to have a wonderful Christmas and I hope that you will be able to return again in the future.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the first floor three bedroom apartment, The lake view is simply stunning. At night time, we could hear the gentle sounds of the water from the lake. Great for relaxing and falling asleep. The kitchen is of a great size, with enough utensils, cutlery and plates to put on a feast. The apartment is nicely appointed and comes with a fireplace and a private outdoor spa that is shielded from the wind. The private undercover garage is also a great addition. Two slight criticisms, one of which I have let the hosts know on departure, are the many stains on the carpet, and the fluctuating water temperature in the showers, but they didn't spoil an otherwise excellent stay. It's my second stay at this resort. Will definitely return for a third.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in one of your Luxury Apartments. The views are stunning and so relaxing. We look forward to having you stay again with us in the future and we hope that you have a wonderful and Joyous Christmas

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

It is a wonderful location and fabulous spacious room with a sitting area and separate bedroom as well as food preparation area. Sharon was extremely welcoming and provided great suggestions for things to do. We would highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Love2Travel59

Thank you so much for your super review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Reef Resort in Taupo. It was my pleasure to offer advise on activities and places that you could go to while you stayed with us. Make sure that you enjoy the rest of your holiday and hopefully you will stay with us again in the very near future.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
0.9 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.7 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort

Property: The Reef Resort
Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
Price range (per night): $163 - $774
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your The Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing