We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$127
Hotels.comUS$128
eDreamsUS$128
TravelocityUS$128
Trip.comUS$127
CheapTicketsUS$128
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,700)
Filter reviews
2,700 results
Traveller rating
1,569
698
271
113
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,569
698
271
113
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room lake taupo junior suite one bedroom apartment full kitchen an upgrade tennis courts new zealand the ground floor great room spa pool spacious room hot pools town centre bistro lago heritage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,700 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2021

The staff were amazing and accommodating. We stayed in an apartment & it truly was a delight. Although I would have expected crispy clean French doors and windows. I am rather particular when it comes to cleanliness, especially when it comes to luxurious stays such as the Hilton. Another disappointment was when we had ordered a bowl of chips and requested room service. The chips took a very long time time and when they arrived we were surprised to see how small the bowl was & how soggy and cold the chips were. We were very disappointed - I would have gotten a better bargain from McDonald’s. Other than the chips and the windows, everything else was amazing. The breakfast delicious. The staff were amazing. The beds were super comfortable. Definitely planning our next trip back.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lisameip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

We have stayed in many Hilton hotels worldwide. This one was disappointing. The facilities were fine, room was clean and tidy. It is the training of staff sadly lacking. Our room included a free mini bar.... nobody seemed to understand how this worked. It was a shambles. We were delivered wrong drinks, or not at all every time. The breakfast was disappointing. We were there towards the end of the sitting.... had to ask for bacon and sausages. There were flies on the open baskets of food. I strongly recommend more training of staff. This is not a cheap hotel, service should be top notch .

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MsOrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

An amazing visit they had such nice people there and we had an amazing view of the Lake we are actually quite close to its amazing pool and debretts close by and the room has some outdated tech like the tv's they have old Samsung ones but they were ok they need some more Sky channels but other than that it was a very nice trip 5 stars

Room tip: Nice Peoople
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Hotel is clean. Bed is very comfortable however nothing “outstanding” or worth the price. Felt like Hilton is just the brand name worthy of charging high but nothing any other hotel I’ve stayed in didn’t have.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank boujeefoodlovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atalo de la Rocha, Other at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback and rating, I am disappointed to read that we weren't able to impress you with our facilities and service, I hope you can gives us another opportunity at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards

Atalo de la Rocha
Food and Beverage manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

We went at the beginning of December and it was glorious - the weather was perfect ie clear as crystal without being too hot - the skies were true blue. We always stop here when heading or returning from the north. This time I was very impressed with the food - the breakfast offered a different selection of eggs etc and a nice change from scrambled. Dinner was fantastic - a new menu from our last stay and it was delicious - I got the impression the ingredients were locally sourced and fresh - simply but cleverly prepared - light but filling - a plate full of deliciousness! Certainly something to return for!!

Room tip: overlooking the lake or the pool and trees are both good - possibly further from the pool is quieter if busy.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeanutWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atalo de la Rocha, Other at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Dear Guest

Thank you for your 5 star rating and lovely feedback, we are really happy to know that we have been able to provide the quality and service you expect from us, looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Atalo de la Rocha
Food and Beverage manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews