We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Booking.com
US$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Lol.travel
US$176
View deal
Hotels.comUS$193
PricelineUS$193
CheapTicketsUS$193
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,711)
Filter reviews
2,711 results
Traveller rating
1,573
701
274
113
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,573
701
274
113
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room lake taupo junior suite one bedroom apartment full kitchen an upgrade tennis courts new zealand the ground floor spa pool great room spacious room hot pools town centre bistro lago heritage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 2,711 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

The Hilton Lake Taupo has great views of the lake. Ignore the reviews about this hotel not being up to Hilton’s standards, the hotel is more of a resort set up than a more urban hotel. My only complaint is that you can’t walk to town from the hotel. I would recommend the hotel offer a shuttle for when people want to go out for dinner and drinks.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 570siobhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Dear 570siobhang

Thank you for posting about your stay on TripAdvisor. Yes, we are very fortunate that our location offers such fabulous views of beautiful Lake Taupo and the surrounding mountains.

Thanks again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Lake Taupo in the future.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, located about a five minute drive from the town centre. Well appointed, modern, comfortable and clean. The beds are super comfortable and customer service standards are superb.
We made use of the spa, pool and sauna which were awesome on a chilly night to relax and warm up.
Thank you Hilton Lake Taupo! We had a brilliant time.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Newcastlelad1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2019

Dear Newcastlelad1311

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

It is always great to read such fabulous comments and I am thrilled to hear that you had a brilliant time staying with us.

Thanks again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Lake Taupo on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019 via mobile

This place has plenty of amenities presented nicely. Pool area was lovely and gym located next to it. Our room was well appointed spacious and clean. We chose an apartment as we have three kids. We did have to ask for our room to be serviced but the maids left our kids nice notes thanking them for having their room nice. The valet service was great. The concierge also great and arranged shipping for the parcel we had left behind. Pity when we had some issues with the room these weren’t fixed. We were promised a bottle of wine as a consolation but had to ask for this 48 hours later when it hadn’t turned up. The hotel is on the Napier Taupo highway so it’s out of town and you’d need transport.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KirstenLang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear KirstenLang76

I am delighted to hear that you found your three bedroom apartment well appointed, spacious and clean and that your children enjoyed the notes our Housekeeping team left for them. It was disappointing to read that the concerns you had with your room were not fixed and the compensatory bottle of wine was not delivered to you in the expected timely manner, I have since discussed your feedback with our Front Office Manager to ensure we provide better guest experiences in the future.

Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights for a weekend. Great friendly warm welcome on arrival late at night, large clean room, and a great outdoor pool and spa setting that both are heated. Makes for a pleasant evening relaxation spot!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Dear Tim C

It is fabulous to read that you had a wonderful and relaxing weekend stay with us and that you enjoyed our pool facilities.

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

Room was really nice, we upgraded to a lake view unfortunately were placed by some people who had loud music and were singing on the deck so we moved down a level but the room was better.

Both rooms were identical, huge! But for a Hilton this place has budget furniture, for the price we pay you would think a new lounge suite and some better furnishings would go way better for the Hilton name.

Pool - amazing, however we went to it at 8pm and it was a mess, towels everywhere from probably spoilt kids who have no respect and there was no fresh towels, when I called reception I couldn’t get through to tell them so had to keep calling and calling.

Restaurant - amazing breakfast was delicious extremely friendly staff

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Aaron_OK_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-HM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Dear Aaron_OK_NZ

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you found the pool area in disarray with no fresh towels and that you found it difficult to contact reception about this, I welcome your feedback as it helps me understand where we need to improve.

On a brighter note it is pleasing to read that you found your room spacious and the breakfast amazing, I was also proud to read your comments about the restaurant team and I will ensure that they are made aware of your observations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Lake Taupo on future travels.

Kind Regards
Annika Worth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews