We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
250
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews angie garth wonderful hosts mountain biking new zealand hosted dinner an amazing cook delicious canapes genuine warmth pre dinner canapes homemade pizza other guests each evening nz wines glass of wine great conversation lake taupo wonderful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Great place to stay for a night. Relaxing and the hosts Angie and Garth were amazing! We had some great food, wine and chats with them. Borrowed the mountain bikes for an ride along the trails nearby. Close to Lake, and beautiful place for a swim. Thanks for an amazing stay, we hope to be back again soon :)

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thanks Natalie for your lovely review. We really appreciate your feedback and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our beautiful Whakaipo Bay is the BEST place on the Lake for a swim, away from the crowds and so close to the Lodge. We look forward to that return visit too! Warmest regards Angie & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Garth and Angie make you feel welcome the moment you arrive at their beautiful property. They are truly genuine and generous hosts who want their guests to have a boutique kiwi experience, and they achieve this with ease. The location is stunning and the rooms are well appointed and immaculate. Angie makes the most delicious breakfast you've ever had in your life (outstanding homemade muesli, jams and spreads to name just a few of the options - to die for!) and Garth makes the best Chai latte (and coffee too!) - far better than any of the cafe's in the area! There is a very good reason why Whakaipo Lodge is number one on TripAdvisor for speciality lodging - you couldn't ask for better hosts or a more relaxed environment to stay. Thank you Garth and Angie for a pleasant and memorable stay!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angem396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you so much for your very generous and thoughtful review Ange. We are so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to see you all again one day. Warmest regards Angie & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

My husband and I had a lovely three days at Whakaipo Lodge at the end of January. The hosts are so friendly, with loads of advice on places to go, information about the local area and only too happy to make bookings for dinner, activities, etc. Angie's breakfasts and canapés are amazing (she really should write a cook book!). The lodge is located 10 minutes drive from Taupo town centre and five minutes from a little pebble beach where you can swim in the lake if the weather is good. We thought it was a great location.

It's worth noting that this is a lodge, not a five star chain hotel, so the experience is different. It's small, and you get a really personal and authentic experience, interacting with local hosts, eating wonderful food made from fresh seasonal produce (much of it grown on their property) and experiencing real Kiwi hospitality. If super fast broadband and chain hotel decor is what you want, then this probably isn't the place. But if you're looking to experience the best of what this beautiful part of rural NZ has to offer, then I'd highly recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lt13166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

What a heartwarming review you have shared. THANK YOU! We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt you received an authentic NZ experience, particularly chatting together over our food and wine. Whakaipo Bay is a hidden jewel of Lake Taupo and is very close to the Lodge: so pleased you got to swim in the pristine waters there. Many thanks once again and warmest regards from us both, Angie & Garth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Whakaipo lodge has a lovely setting however it is just a bed and breakfast and we were underwhelmed by the stay there as at 395nzd per night we could have stayed at the Hilton, and we had stayed at the langham in Auckland for half that price, also it's miles away from taupo and taxi is 45nzd each way, the hosts are lovely people, and the food was good, however they had family staying and we felt it did encroach on our time there a bit, wine and canapés in the evening were lovely but the wine is measured, the room was comfortable and spotless clean, bed very comfy. I feel if they dropped there prices a bit this would be great, as its overpriced for a bed and breakfast. Also wifi didn't work at all we did raise it but it never improved during our stay.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us more and are disappointed you feel you didn’t get value for money. We aren’t just a bed & breakfast as we provide a boutique lodge experience with complimentary afternoon tea/espresso coffee, evening drinks & canapes with hosts, use of mountain bikes, gourmet breakfast, large air-conditioned suites and complimentary airport shuttle in a very special, secluded location near the Great Lake. Our pricing is comparable with other boutique lodge providers in Taupo and, as seen from our reviews and #1 ranking, guests believe we provide exceptional value for money.
We apologise that Wi-Fi in your suite was not always available. There was an issue with our router extender during your stay. This has now been rectified. Use of Wi-Fi in the guest lounge was available.
As stated in our listings, we are 10km, less than 10 mins to the centre of Taupo.
Our location is a real attraction for our guests with its seclusion, natural beauty and peace and quiet. We provide a hosted dinner at the Lodge by arrangement, there is a bar & bistro 5 mins away and also guests can have restaurant meals delivered to the Lodge so there are many great alternatives if you don’t wish to drive the 10 minutes to Taupo or get a taxi.
Very pleased you enjoyed the food and found your suite so comfortable and clean. We wish you all the very best. Warmest regards, Angie & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Whaikapo Lodge for our tenth wedding anniversary. The lodge was beautiful. Well appointed, set in stunning, peaceful surrounds and you really couldn't wish for more wonderful hosts. Angie and Garth are each in their own right so lovely and together make for the perfect duo to operate a place like this. We couldn't recommend the lodge more. It was great.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karla_DB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

Thanks so much for your lovely review Karla. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you for your anniversary celebrations and very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to seeing you again one day. Warmest regards, Angie & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews