We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bistro ”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #9 of 135 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Bistro is a small family owned restaurant focused on simple clean flavours and honest tasty food from fresh local produce, all in a relaxed causal setting to provide our guests with moments that last a life time.
Reviewed 23 July 2019 via mobile

We visited this wonderful restaurant early on a Saturday evening. We were greeted at the door, seated and a drink delivered with a delicious free aperitif promptly.
Our waiter gave us space to peruse the menu, then when we were ready to order, offered advise on what he recommended.
The food was delicious, the service outstanding and I would thoroughly recommend trying this restaurant when in Taupo.
Remember to book unless you are eating early in the evening as this is a very popular restaurant and the majority of the tables were reserved.

Date of visit: July 2019
3  Thank ahuahuwhanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 179 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2019

Read the rest of the reviews and chose to come here for tea, food was amazing and the waitress was so polite and friendly - really great place

Date of visit: July 2019
6  Thank 58katj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

We came here thinking we would have a nice relaxed meal. We sat down and had our starters within 5 minutes of sitting down. We felt rushed and had to tell the waiters to slow down. To their credit they did and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were excellent. The restaurant itself look more like a cafe than a bistro which is a shame, as the food is so good.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2019

On a cold, foggy night in Taupo, The Bistro was a warm haven where we were treated to a delicious dinner in a lovely environment. The staff welcomed us, and I was really glad I'd made a booking, because it was packed the night we went. I'm not sure it is always that busy, but I wouldn't mind guessing it is because of the quality of the food.

Our waiter was a young man that was very attentive and helpful, and ensured we had all the information we needed and took our orders efficiently.

For starters, we were provided with freshly baked bread to dip in olive oil - beautiful bread with good quality olive oil, so that was delicious.

My vegetarian daughters chose the crispy battered vegetables. While they said they were lovely, there was a bit too much batter, so they ended up "skinning" some of the veggies and just eating them au naturale. But the flavour was great, and they were very happy with them, and they were great with the aioli.

My husband chose the Grilled Scotch Fillet of Beef, and declared it perfect. It was cooked exactly as he asked for it to be, and the accompanying vegetables were fantastic.

I chose the fish of the day, which was served with gnocchi, mixed vegetables and a lovely sauce.

We would have loved the apple and rhubarb crumble for dessert, but we just couldn't fit it in.

Dinner for four came to $144.00, but worth every penny for the great meal and drinks. I'd be back in a flash next time we get to Taupo. Congratulations to the chef/owner on a wonderful restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Gibletsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

Had a wicked date night here last Thursday night. The waiters made the whole night fantastic.

Great service, great wines and fantastic food. Compliments to the chefs.

The pre dinner soup taster and bread was a lovely addition.

Highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank danevazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.