We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome meal and staff”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #9 of 135 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Bistro is a small family owned restaurant focused on simple clean flavours and honest tasty food from fresh local produce, all in a relaxed causal setting to provide our guests with moments that last a life time.
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Had a fantastic meal here, the food was Devine, the flavors were exceptionally balanced. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. Thanks for a lovely meal on our trip to Taupo.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank SJNZ1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 186 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2019

We really enjoyed the degustation menu with expertly matched wines. This unassuming restaurant is much better than it appears. It’s slogan (“simple but nice”) doesn’t do it justice. The food and service was excellent. Our dinner was the best and most surprising dining experience of our recent NZ North Island holiday.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank 411traceyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2019

Very much a bistro style restaurant with great tasty food. Also a very good selection of wines and beers. Location isn't amazing but worth going to for the great food.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank AndyP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2019

I had read some reviews on Tripadvisor prior to choosing to dine at The Bistro. So I guess there in lay the problem in that we had somewhat high expectations. The frontage of the restaurant is very unassuming and tucked in amongest retail stores.

There were plenty of staff but they were not particularly friendly nor welcoming. It was a busy night and things ran with military precision - hence maybe this is why it lacked warmth and friendlyness.

But in saying that the food was outstanding, we had the fish which was truly delicious. If they are able to soften the warmth of staff and atmosphere this would be a truly great place to dine.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2019

The restaurant was fully booked on a Tuesday night, so we chose to eat at the bar (full menu available there). Arriving hungry, we initially wanted to try one of everything on the delightful menu, but restrained ourselves and ordered a few things to share. The calamari appetizer with lemon gnocchi was outstanding. Cooked perfectly with just the right balance of flavors. We also would like to rave about the cheese plate we chose for our final course-- we only chose one cheese (a NZ bleu), but it was beautifully presented, with many fruit pastes, crostini, grapes, etc to build with. The wine list, like the menu, seems to emphasize quality over quantity. Several good selections by the glass. The ambiance here is nice-- lively at the bar with a view of the kitchen and more serene at the tables. We loved our visit.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank macleods4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.