We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!!”
Review of McDonald's

McDonald's
Ranked #32 of 45 Quick Bites in Taupo
Cuisines: Fast food
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 27 September 2023

Visited in May 2023

We stopped over in Lake Taupo for lunch and the McDonald's here stood out with its very own Douglas DC-3 plane kitted out as a dining venue option.

Accessible via the inside of the restaurant, one can visit without purchasing any food. There are placards detailing the history of the plane inside and the cockpit is sealed off for safety and preservation purposes.

The location of McDonald's here is good as it is located towards lake's edge for further exploration.

Check out the lake's edge golf nearby.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joyman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2023

It's a Maccas with a plane, thats just cool. There was heaps of info about the plane and you could view the whole cockpit. We went for a pretty early dinner 5 ish, after driving all day, the food was acceptable, its cheap takeout after all. As it was so cold we were the only people on the plane eating, so that was pretty cool.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tinydragonborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2023

Monique was on the drive in desk and spotted that I had a super gold card and told me I can get any size coffee at anytime for $3!
Thanks Monique. So appreciated.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Service
Thank Passenger55448097764
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2023

The place is a filthy mess. No cleaning was done and tables were not wiped clean at all, there were no clean tables.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Azza F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2023 via mobile

Look what i’ve got this is a Hobbit size….And I’m a human. I hope I’m not the only one but this was a horrible experience at the “Best Mc Donalds”

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed McDonald's also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to McDonald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.