We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'World's coolest McDonald's”
Review of McDonald's

McDonald's
Ranked #32 of 45 Quick Bites in Taupo
Cuisines: Fast food
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 6 July 2021

We don't normally frequent McDonald's but had to come here to dine in the aircraft.
We actually visited Dec 2019...service and food as normal here but we could not eat in the plane as children use it as a playground too and were screaming and jumping over the tables, a nightmare up there. We ended up eating in the restaurant...overall not a good experience. It's a shame as it is cool but staff should have more control.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ilovetheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2021

We weren't planning on coming here, but ended up here for a lunch as we were nearby. The kids loved the playground and the plane. The food is just like any other McDonalds but was a little slower for the service. The cleaners also left all their cleaning materials on the table, which wasn't very safe for the young ones..

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HypnoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

Popped into this McDonalds for a late breakfast/early lunch. Service was fast and efficient, but chips were. Cold and replaced. The restaurant was busy, but bins were full and tables all needed to be wiped.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank DaveDogNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

Tables with heaps of leftover food etc, nothing looked wiped down food on floor , rubbish bins overflowing . Not appealing to want to eat from here at all.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank K9202SXdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2021

We spent our New Year in Taupo and decided to drop by at the World's Coolest McDonald's. It's one-of-a-kind fast food experience but I didn't feel like eating inside the plane. Not a good place (plane) for claustrophobic people.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruthie0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed McDonald's also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to McDonald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.