We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Taupo
from US$68.08
More Info
from US$26.82
More Info
from US$75.65
More Info
from US$92.84
More Info
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
28
39
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
39
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews awesome views short drive wairakei terraces the main road quick stop steam coming worth a visit field lookout power harnessing generated viewpoint vents
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We drove through this site and saw stem gushing from vents and kms of pipes. We also drove to an area above the power station where we could view the whole place and take photos.
It's free and well worth stopping to view.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MikeL5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We only got to see it from outside as it was closed for the day. You may check the opening hours before going there. When we arrived was about 2 pm on a Saturday and it was closed. Or, you may organise it through the tours etc.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank 590alir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Took a school group to visit the power station. The staff were fantastic and provided a lot of information about how the station operated. Very interesting and lots of great learning!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

It only takes a few minutes to drive through this very interesting feature to a viewpoint at the top, but it's certainly worth it. You can read at the viewpoint how it all works. Truly amazing. We were just waiting for James Bond to appear from the behind the steam!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

I have never seen such an intricate set up harnessing natural energy. Fascinating. And it was done 60 odd years ago. Ingenious!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank waynelG9019RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews