We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property in a stunning location!”
Review of The Point Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Point Villas
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Point Villas are well appointed, peaceful with fantastic views of the lake. Our whole family enjoyed the setting and many home comforts. Peg made us feel very welcome and if we are ever back in New Zealand we would love to stay again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Point-Villas, Owner at The Point Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you Sharon for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you & your family...I do hope you are able to return to New Zealand one day
Very best wishes .
Peg.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Taupo & the wonderful accommodation at The Point Villas. Peg was so wonderful and is such a lovely person. Was very impressed with the amenities and enjoyed the lap pool!!! Beautiful sunrises and sunsets overlooking Acacia Bay. Wow!!! I recently stayed there and also attended the Summer Concert in Taupo. Would absolutely love to visit again next year, Danielle.S (Auckland).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DANIELLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

If you are debating whether you should stay here or not, stop and just book. We have been lucky to stay in some beautiful places around the world, and this is up there with the best. The view over the lake is stunning, the property is huge (we stayed in villa one) and the shower is truely special, with views right over the lake! Breakfast provisions were so generous with beautiful bread, fresh fruit and yoghurt. We loved the kitchen and got catering organised by yumfoodco which i highly recommend it was just delicious. We ordered two dinners and there was so much food it lasted us three dinners and two lunches! We travelled with our 20mo and while we had to keep his hands out of lots of tempting things (like the microwave at toddler height!), it was a great property for a little one, plenty of space and the pool was kept warm with the solar cover. We loved our stay and are dreaming of our return!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Frenchs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay in Villa 1. The setting is amazing overlooking lake Taupo and the villa is beautiful, comfortable and extremely well equipped - there was even freshly baked bread and a huge bowl of fruit for us to eat! We were very warmly greeted by Peg who happily spent lots of time going over how everything works and answering any questions. I have a toddler who was delighted by the swimming pool (which is also very safe behind a child-proof gate and a pool cover) and who was also well provided for with a high chair and lots of fresh milk in the fridge. We all had a great time and I highly recommend Point Villas for a relaxing stay in Lake Taupo!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JM83Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Two luxurious villas in a pristine environment

We enjoyed four nights in one of two luxurious villas, simply drinking in the views from floor to ceiling glass windows overlooking Lake Taupo, the bush and gardens. We loved the spacious living areas which open out to terraces and our own private lap pool. It was wonderful to relax on outdoor loungers under the sun umbrella and simply unwind with a book. So quiet with just birdsong and the sigh of the bush rustling in the breeze. We dined alfresco surrounded by candlelight before retreating indoors to enjoy a glass of wine by the gas fire on a cooler evening. We loved the selection of books, but there’s satellite TV to keep up with world events. The well-equipped kitchen has simply everything you need to whip up a gourmet dinner; plates and stemware, cutlery and more. And we loved the Nespresso coffee day and night. We could have had prepared meals delivered by a catering expert which is a great option when on holiday. Peg is a fabulous and experienced host and had provisioned our villa with hand-crafted breads, eggs, milk, and more. There’s even a selection of New Zealand wines which you can select and pay later. And so to bed – spacious bedrooms flow through to dressing rooms and a luxurious ensuite. Imagine showering with a view to the lake or overlooking the bush – or relax in a bathtub with divine Molton Brown toiletries. Wrap yourself in a bathrobe and sleep in the silence of this beautiful environment. We loved the GHD hairdryer and hair tongs too – nice touch.
We walked and drove around The Point and down to the lake. If felt like our own private botanical garden and we didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedlandWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,127 reviews
0.0 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.0 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.0 km away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 35 in Taupo
256 reviews
0.0 km away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 42 in Taupo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Villas

Address: Lake Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Point Villas)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $1,052 - $1,583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Point Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing