We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Point Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Motor Lodge(Taupo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
eMotel(Taupo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
60
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaori carvingsgated communityfloor to ceiling glass windowsbreakfast provisionskayaks providedspacious livingnew zealandlake taupofour nightsthe kitchenoverlooking the lakeswimming poolglass of winepegluxuryaccommodationghd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Taupo & the wonderful accommodation at The Point Villas. Peg was so wonderful and is such a lovely person. Was very impressed with the amenities and enjoyed the lap pool!!! Beautiful sunrises and sunsets overlooking Acacia Bay. Wow!!! I recently stayed there and also attended the Summer Concert in Taupo. Would absolutely love to visit again next year, Danielle.S (Auckland).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DANIELLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

If you are debating whether you should stay here or not, stop and just book. We have been lucky to stay in some beautiful places around the world, and this is up there with the best. The view over the lake is stunning, the property is huge (we stayed in villa one) and the shower is truely special, with views right over the lake! Breakfast provisions were so generous with beautiful bread, fresh fruit and yoghurt. We loved the kitchen and got catering organised by yumfoodco which i highly recommend it was just delicious. We ordered two dinners and there was so much food it lasted us three dinners and two lunches! We travelled with our 20mo and while we had to keep his hands out of lots of tempting things (like the microwave at toddler height!), it was a great property for a little one, plenty of space and the pool was kept warm with the solar cover. We loved our stay and are dreaming of our return!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Frenchs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay in Villa 1. The setting is amazing overlooking lake Taupo and the villa is beautiful, comfortable and extremely well equipped - there was even freshly baked bread and a huge bowl of fruit for us to eat! We were very warmly greeted by Peg who happily spent lots of time going over how everything works and answering any questions. I have a toddler who was delighted by the swimming pool (which is also very safe behind a child-proof gate and a pool cover) and who was also well provided for with a high chair and lots of fresh milk in the fridge. We all had a great time and I highly recommend Point Villas for a relaxing stay in Lake Taupo!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JM83Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Two luxurious villas in a pristine environment

We enjoyed four nights in one of two luxurious villas, simply drinking in the views from floor to ceiling glass windows overlooking Lake Taupo, the bush and gardens. We loved the spacious living areas which open out to terraces and our own private lap pool. It was wonderful to relax on outdoor loungers under the sun umbrella and simply unwind with a book. So quiet with just birdsong and the sigh of the bush rustling in the breeze. We dined alfresco surrounded by candlelight before retreating indoors to enjoy a glass of wine by the gas fire on a cooler evening. We loved the selection of books, but there’s satellite TV to keep up with world events. The well-equipped kitchen has simply everything you need to whip up a gourmet dinner; plates and stemware, cutlery and more. And we loved the Nespresso coffee day and night. We could have had prepared meals delivered by a catering expert which is a great option when on holiday. Peg is a fabulous and experienced host and had provisioned our villa with hand-crafted breads, eggs, milk, and more. There’s even a selection of New Zealand wines which you can select and pay later. And so to bed – spacious bedrooms flow through to dressing rooms and a luxurious ensuite. Imagine showering with a view to the lake or overlooking the bush – or relax in a bathtub with divine Molton Brown toiletries. Wrap yourself in a bathrobe and sleep in the silence of this beautiful environment. We loved the GHD hairdryer and hair tongs too – nice touch.
We walked and drove around The Point and down to the lake. If felt like our own private botanical garden and we didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedlandWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My wife, her parents, her daughter and I stayed for four nights over Christmas. The three bedroom villa was luxurious and nothing was missing; the layout was good and everything you could wish for was taken care of. Peg was a perfect host and I would highly recommend this for a relaxing in luxury with great views across the lake Taupo making the stay almost perfect.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews