We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Point Villas
Nearby Hotels
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$548
US$535
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huka Lodge(Taupo)
US$1,422
US$1,364
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
61
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaori carvingsgated communityfloor to ceiling glass windowsbreakfast provisionskayaks providedspacious livingnew zealandlake taupofour nightsthe kitchenoverlooking the lakeswimming poolglass of winepegluxuryghdaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay in Villa 1. The setting is amazing overlooking lake Taupo and the villa is beautiful, comfortable and extremely well equipped - there was even freshly baked bread and a huge bowl of fruit for us to eat! We were very warmly greeted by Peg who happily spent lots of time going over how everything works and answering any questions. I have a toddler who was delighted by the swimming pool (which is also very safe behind a child-proof gate and a pool cover) and who was also well provided for with a high chair and lots of fresh milk in the fridge. We all had a great time and I highly recommend Point Villas for a relaxing stay in Lake Taupo!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JM83Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Two luxurious villas in a pristine environment

We enjoyed four nights in one of two luxurious villas, simply drinking in the views from floor to ceiling glass windows overlooking Lake Taupo, the bush and gardens. We loved the spacious living areas which open out to terraces and our own private lap pool. It was wonderful to relax on outdoor loungers under the sun umbrella and simply unwind with a book. So quiet with just birdsong and the sigh of the bush rustling in the breeze. We dined alfresco surrounded by candlelight before retreating indoors to enjoy a glass of wine by the gas fire on a cooler evening. We loved the selection of books, but there’s satellite TV to keep up with world events. The well-equipped kitchen has simply everything you need to whip up a gourmet dinner; plates and stemware, cutlery and more. And we loved the Nespresso coffee day and night. We could have had prepared meals delivered by a catering expert which is a great option when on holiday. Peg is a fabulous and experienced host and had provisioned our villa with hand-crafted breads, eggs, milk, and more. There’s even a selection of New Zealand wines which you can select and pay later. And so to bed – spacious bedrooms flow through to dressing rooms and a luxurious ensuite. Imagine showering with a view to the lake or overlooking the bush – or relax in a bathtub with divine Molton Brown toiletries. Wrap yourself in a bathrobe and sleep in the silence of this beautiful environment. We loved the GHD hairdryer and hair tongs too – nice touch.
We walked and drove around The Point and down to the lake. If felt like our own private botanical garden and we didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedlandWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My wife, her parents, her daughter and I stayed for four nights over Christmas. The three bedroom villa was luxurious and nothing was missing; the layout was good and everything you could wish for was taken care of. Peg was a perfect host and I would highly recommend this for a relaxing in luxury with great views across the lake Taupo making the stay almost perfect.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Better than excellent. We were here some years ago with friends and decided that 2 nights was not enough. This time we stayed 7 nights with the same friends and will return for 14 nights. Cannot spend enough time here.
The location overlooks lake taupo and is in a gated community. Very secure and very secluded. The villa has 2 separate rooms with en-suites and large baths. The rooms are large with excellent beds. The kitchen and cooking facilities are outstanding.A large lounge area overlooking the lake leads onto a large outdoor area equipped with table chairs lounges and a BBQ. There is also a lap pool. Too many extras to mention.The proprietors a lovely people and provide good information on local activities and dining options.

Room Tip: Both rooms are exceptional
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We are traveling as a group of 8 - my family of four plus both sets of parents on both my and my husband's side. The Point offers two villas for rent and we took the villa with three bedrooms, all with adjoining bathrooms. One of the bedroom is large enough to accommodate two extra foldable beds, so my family of four can stay together in one room while our parents take the other two. Milk, fruits, bread, jam, coffee and tea are provided so you can have your breakfast in the house while enjoying the gorgeous view of Lake Taupo. Otherwise, there is a menu for you to order takeouts. There is an abundance of supply of towels, tissue, soap and other daily necessities; more than enough for our extended family of eight to stay four days. The house is warm in winter and promises a beautiful view and luxurious lifestyle in summer. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank dorisyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews