We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing accommodation in picturesque location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Point Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Point Villas
Ranked #14 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation in picturesque location”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My wife, her parents, her daughter and I stayed for four nights over Christmas. The three bedroom villa was luxurious and nothing was missing; the layout was good and everything you could wish for was taken care of. Peg was a perfect host and I would highly recommend this for a relaxing in luxury with great views across the lake Taupo making the stay almost perfect.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Better than excellent. We were here some years ago with friends and decided that 2 nights was not enough. This time we stayed 7 nights with the same friends and will return for 14 nights. Cannot spend enough time here.
The location overlooks lake taupo and is in a gated community. Very secure and very secluded. The villa has 2 separate rooms with en-suites and large baths. The rooms are large with excellent beds. The kitchen and cooking facilities are outstanding.A large lounge area overlooking the lake leads onto a large outdoor area equipped with table chairs lounges and a BBQ. There is also a lap pool. Too many extras to mention.The proprietors a lovely people and provide good information on local activities and dining options.

Room Tip: Both rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We are traveling as a group of 8 - my family of four plus both sets of parents on both my and my husband's side. The Point offers two villas for rent and we took the villa with three bedrooms, all with adjoining bathrooms. One of the bedroom is large enough to accommodate two extra foldable beds, so my family of four can stay together in one room while our parents take the other two. Milk, fruits, bread, jam, coffee and tea are provided so you can have your breakfast in the house while enjoying the gorgeous view of Lake Taupo. Otherwise, there is a menu for you to order takeouts. There is an abundance of supply of towels, tissue, soap and other daily necessities; more than enough for our extended family of eight to stay four days. The house is warm in winter and promises a beautiful view and luxurious lifestyle in summer. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dorisyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2016

late review, we are group of 6 people and we are totally enjoy this place. And this is a place for you to have a rest maybe not for party. It is really quiet and peaceful. All of us would like to visit here next time. Peg is very nice and professional. Thank you very much:)

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Where to start about saying so many good things , was a place where the moment you walked in you felt peace and relaxed.it has the most amazing views from each balcony and every room had a beautiful idyllic view to outside . The bathrooms also have either bush or a lake view right from your bathtub We had the privilege of having three bedrooms which has been made available recently. Just can't say enough about the place , it's just gorgeous.

Peg the host was wonderful she made sure everything was there and was very helpful in organizing stuff if we wanted it.

My son and husband loved the kayaking that were provided on site , there is a tennis court and mini golf across the way no need to bring anything as everything is provided on site. Even down to not bringing my own hair dyer and straighteners as they were also provided.

We will in the future be returning to make more fond memories of staying in Taupo.

Thank you Peg you are a wonderful lady. Xx

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank C7962LYlisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.0 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.0 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
257 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 33 in Taupo
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Villas

Property: The Point Villas
Address: Lake Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Point Villas)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price range (per night): $1,040 - $1,631
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Point Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing