We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Point Villas”
Review of The Point Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Point Villas
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at Point Villas for 3 nights in October last year and we had the most amazing time. The villa is wonderful - it's been beautifully decorated and is incredibly comfortable. You can tell that a lot of love has gone into the design and the views are breathtaking. I could sit out on that patio overlooking the lake forever! Peg (the owner and host) is so welcoming and friendly and can suggest a wide range of activities to do nearby. She organised for us to go on a sunset cruise with Barbary Scenic Cruises and it was the perfect end to our stay there. This just felt like home from the moment we walked in - I really didn't want to leave. We preferred cooking in the villa and enjoying the peace and quiet but it's only about a 10mins drive away to the town if you want to go out and enjoy the restaurants. Lake Taupo is a beautiful area of New Zealand and there is so much to do. And the best thing? Coming back to Point Villas after a day's sightseeing!

Room Tip: Either room in the villa is fantastic and offer some great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was our 3rd stay at The Point Villas and as always our hosts Peg and Brian were most gracious and accommodating for any and every request that we had. This property is an immaculate, private and spacious retreat that offers breath taking views and the peace and tranquility of this private gated estate is spectacular. Attention to detail is impeccable, For our stay we were treated to home made shortbread and granola to mention just a couple of the thoughtful little touches. Their newest addition, the Magna solar heated lap pool, made for the perfect 5 star experience. Peg and Brian, thank you. We will be back again soon..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwisue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We headed to Taupo for some world class trout fishing but wanted accommodations to match the trophy fish. As picky travelers, we had done a fair amount of research before selecting the Point Villas. We were up for the opportunity to prepare a meal or two in the privacy of a spectacularly located and well appointed villa. The view is breathtaking. Our hostess, Peg Bull, was utterly charming and aimed to please, even picking up the Lord of the Rings trilogy to prepare us for our next venture into Middle Earth. A great deal of attention to detail is evidenced throughout...from the quality of the linens down to the perfect kitchen utensil. This is a special place and nice to come home to after battling trophy trout on the variety of rivers in the area.

Room Tip: Villa Number One...nothing to see but your own pool looking out to dramatic views of Lake Taupo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Peg Bull (the owner and your host) has been on the New Zealand luxury scene for a long time. And this is evident in the standard of her villas here, overlooking Lake Taupo. Immaculate, spacious, beautifully accesorized. The new swimming pool is very high quality indeed and she is on call to attend to any requests. This is where people with high media profiles stay when they don't want to be seen by everyone in the more social lodges.

The value for money here is exceptional & we recommend splashing out on a private chef to come and cook for you.

As a private travel designer, I book clients into Point Villas and the feedback has always been positive

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Point Villas have exclusivity without losing accessibility to great site seeing opportunities. With breathtaking views and tranquillity it is easy to lose yourself and become mesmerized by the fireplace with a glass of your favourite wine in hand. Spectacular views are seen from every room in the property, even the bathroom.

The Villas are equally suitable for romantic occasions or to share with family to create everlasting memories. Furnishings are impeccable, with a classical design style which encapsulates the owner, Peg, to a “T”. Prior to our arrival, Peg had ensured all of our needs were catered for and upon arrival provided invaluable suggestions for dining and tourist options. With the Villas being extremely homely and a well equipped kitchen at hand, a night in is a wonderful alternative to dining out. If this doesn’t take your fancy a Chief can be arranged to prepare a meal for you if you prefer.

We enjoyed our 4 night stay immensely and hope to revisit one day soon. Thank you for sharing this slice of heaven with us.

Room Tip: Villas cater for both the summer and winter traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0 km away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
266 reviews
0 km away
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 34 in Taupo
211 reviews
0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Villas

Address: Lake Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Point Villas)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $1,037 - $1,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Point Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing