We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
eMotel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huka Lodge(Taupo)
US$1,390
US$1,337
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$540
US$525
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
61
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaori carvingsbreakfast provisionskayaks providednew zealandlake taupothe kitchenswimming poolpegtennisaccommodationnzretreat
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was our 3rd stay at The Point Villas and as always our hosts Peg and Brian were most gracious and accommodating for any and every request that we had. This property is an immaculate, private and spacious retreat that offers breath taking views and the peace and tranquility of this private gated estate is spectacular. Attention to detail is impeccable, For our stay we were treated to home made shortbread and granola to mention just a couple of the thoughtful little touches. Their newest addition, the Magna solar heated lap pool, made for the perfect 5 star experience. Peg and Brian, thank you. We will be back again soon..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwisue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We headed to Taupo for some world class trout fishing but wanted accommodations to match the trophy fish. As picky travelers, we had done a fair amount of research before selecting the Point Villas. We were up for the opportunity to prepare a meal or two in the privacy of a spectacularly located and well appointed villa. The view is breathtaking. Our hostess, Peg Bull, was utterly charming and aimed to please, even picking up the Lord of the Rings trilogy to prepare us for our next venture into Middle Earth. A great deal of attention to detail is evidenced throughout...from the quality of the linens down to the perfect kitchen utensil. This is a special place and nice to come home to after battling trophy trout on the variety of rivers in the area.

Room Tip: Villa Number One...nothing to see but your own pool looking out to dramatic views of Lake Taupo.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Peg Bull (the owner and your host) has been on the New Zealand luxury scene for a long time. And this is evident in the standard of her villas here, overlooking Lake Taupo. Immaculate, spacious, beautifully accesorized. The new swimming pool is very high quality indeed and she is on call to attend to any requests. This is where people with high media profiles stay when they don't want to be seen by everyone in the more social lodges.

The value for money here is exceptional & we recommend splashing out on a private chef to come and cook for you.

As a private travel designer, I book clients into Point Villas and the feedback has always been positive

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Point Villas have exclusivity without losing accessibility to great site seeing opportunities. With breathtaking views and tranquillity it is easy to lose yourself and become mesmerized by the fireplace with a glass of your favourite wine in hand. Spectacular views are seen from every room in the property, even the bathroom.

The Villas are equally suitable for romantic occasions or to share with family to create everlasting memories. Furnishings are impeccable, with a classical design style which encapsulates the owner, Peg, to a “T”. Prior to our arrival, Peg had ensured all of our needs were catered for and upon arrival provided invaluable suggestions for dining and tourist options. With the Villas being extremely homely and a well equipped kitchen at hand, a night in is a wonderful alternative to dining out. If this doesn’t take your fancy a Chief can be arranged to prepare a meal for you if you prefer.

We enjoyed our 4 night stay immensely and hope to revisit one day soon. Thank you for sharing this slice of heaven with us.

Room Tip: Villas cater for both the summer and winter traveller.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We would highly recommend Point Villas to a couple or two couples looking for a private and 5 star holiday. We enjoyed the self catering as we love to cook and the kitchen was one of the best equipped and classy kitchens we have seen. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable with every last detail catered for.

The views are wonderful, and the surrounding gardens are luxurious. And just to ensure your stay is perfect, Peg and Brian are generous and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyh94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews