We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$104
eDreamsUS$104
CheapTicketsUS$103
Hotels.comUS$103
Trip.comUS$104
FindHotelUS$103
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
137
78
23
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
137
78
23
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view spa room lounge area thermal spa great spot air conditioning small kitchenette sky tv close to town new zealand balcony hamish motel accommodation channels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2020

Last time we stayed here it was great - the view was amazing and the room perfect. This time although the rooms are well set out and still great view of the Lake we found the bed well past its use by and not much sleep was had with a well warn mattress- otherwise it was fine - just a note if you want to watch TV in bed that is a no - as it is in the Lounge area and the hard sofa bed was not great for relaxing into either.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Kiwi951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2020

We originally tried to book this hotel by phone, but was told no one in the office to make the booking and they would call back in the morning - they didnt. So we made the booking on line. On arrival the person on reception was friendly and helpful Our room #9 was lovely - and had a small balconey with a lake view and a spa and seperate lounge area. The bathroom needs some work doing - mould and mildew on the tiles, mess in the bath and the bathmate was gross and needs replacing. One issue we had was that you rang the bell for attention at reception but no-one appears. We also had issues with the smoke alarm in our room - it went off and was taken away to be cleaned - and bought back only to go off again later that evening. This time it was not replaced.

Room tip: #9 was at the side of the hotel so hardly any traffic noise ast this is a dead end street. Spa is fantastic.....
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We arrived late in the day without a booking. Hamish was very friendly and walked us to the last available room and larger suite for us to choose from, both were spotless. We chose the larger suite and could not have been happier. I have seen some reviews suggesting the accommodation is dated, I disagree. Both rooms shown to us have been refurbished and are luxurious, quiet and comfortable.
Hamish gave us suggestions for dinner and he was spot on. The Bistro in town, is easily one of THE BEST meals we have had in New Zealand. After dinner, we enjoyed a soak in our private thermal hot tub. A perfect end to a long day travelling. Highly recommend, suggest booking ahead. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi melbgrl
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you found us friendly and found our rooms luxurious, quiet and comfortable. We do understand that style is very much a matter of personal taste and know it can't always be recognised by everybody but are happy you enjoyed your surroundings. We think perhaps some comments about being dated may be prompted from some of the bathrooms in our smaller studio units which have been the last on our maintenance schedule to be tackled but which we are very happy to say are due to be renovated in the coming slower season, and we look forward to having those completed soon.
We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner at The Bistro. Recommendations can be tricky as once again, personal taste is key but as Hamish told you, The Bistro is definitely one of faves in town as we've always enjoyed every meal we have had there ourselves. Thanks again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in Taupo!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a three night break, we booked in to the adapted spa suite - Room No. 1 with a disabled parking space right outside. The room was very spacious with a small kitchenette / lounge area and outside space with a partial view of the lake. Extremely good value for money what you get.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 007_Richard_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi 007-Richard-E
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break at The Cove and the spaciousness of your room and feel you received extremely good value for money! It was our pleasure to host you and hope to see you again some time.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

2017 - A very spacious room with a small outside balcony. Air conditioning, not working very well and management was notified of this, not a lot was done to fix it. Other motels and rooms were full due to the concert weekend so stayed there for the few days.

Date of stay: February 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matawaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi Matawaka
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay. Unfortunately as you had stayed three years ago we are replying to a review that was actually under previous management and before our time. If we had been here and you'd had difficulty with your air conditioning (or anything else for that matter) we can assure you we would have responded immediately to your issues and would have done our very best to find a solution as your experience as our guest is our highest priority. We are sorry that was the impression you were left with three years ago and would certainly welcome the opportunity to have you stay again if you are ever back in Taupo. Thank you and best wishes.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews