We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nice staff but coffee was average”

Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar
Ranked #2 of 43 Quick Bites in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Victoria's is THE place to eat in Taupo. We refurbished 2014 and our new look is comfortable, warm, modern and classy with a great outside dining area. We are a bustling café serving innovative food in friendly atmosphere. We are the place to meet for both individuals and large groups for delicious speciality coffee and an amazing gastrocafe/pub dining experience. Our fabulous breakfasts and scrumptious lunches are prepared by our passionate in-house chefs and served by our friendly, knowledgeable team. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Central to town. Coffee was average though and was quite bitter. Cabinet food was yummy (we got the savoury muffin). Staff were friendly.

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caitduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2024

I have written 100s of reviews, regretfully this is my first negative one. I have always enjoyed Victoria's have had many great coffees over the years, nice ambience friendly staff, great location. I ordered eggs benedict. What arrived was a shock! A minuscule meal I doubt if it was 15cm across and it was raw served with I think 1 strip of bacon lost in soggy what I presume were muffins the eggs had white liquid running from the yolks. They did offer to recook but I declined and got a cash refund.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christopher1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2024

Enjoyed this so much we went multiple times in a brief stay in Taupo. Great menu selections and tasty. We went first for coffee, then breakfast twice after that.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TonyC_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

Ordered pancakes with lemon and sugar. Got berry instead and pancakes were crunchy. Ordered omelette with spinach and hollandaise. Forgot to add the hollandaise. Table on arrival was not wiped properly. Give it a miss.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank fangio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

We stopped in on our way back home based on Tripadvisor reviews for their eggs Benedict. Reviewers you let us down!! Other than tasty bacon some of the worst eggs been we’ve had! Eggs overdone, bland hollandaise which hardly appeared on the plate and the rosti bases were cold and lacked flavour. Whilst the coffees were nice the food was far from it.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank RickM638
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.