We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar
Ranked #11 of 157 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Victoria's is THE place to eat in Taupo. We refurbished 2014 and our new look is comfortable, warm, modern and classy with a great outside dining area. We are a bustling café serving innovative food in friendly atmosphere. We are the place to meet for both individuals and large groups for delicious speciality coffee and an amazing gastrocafe/pub dining experience. Our fabulous breakfasts and scrumptious lunches are prepared by our passionate in-house chefs and served by our friendly, knowledgeable team. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Went for breakfast because of the trip advisor review. Meals were huge, but tasted average. The Works had chewy sausages and a potato cake that was hot in the outside and cold on the inside, wouldn’t recommend that. The pancakes went down well, a better dish. Wouldn’t go again for the price.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank iswayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Meal was fantastic. But overpriced. Asked for coffee takeaway. Coffee came. Meal came. Asked staff member politely for a stirrer. She went to the barrister. Asked for a stirrer at which point 3 staff had a rude discussion the went 'a stirrer! What kind of stirrer?' 'What would he need a stirrer for?'
All in a rude condescending tone loud enough for me to hear from the opposite side of the cafe.
very very rude and disappointed in staff attitude.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank jacobr981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

We ate breakfast here mid-week. Friendly staff and nice environment. Food was good. Very generous servings. Reasonable selection of gluten free options.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank NHJNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way to Hastings. The selection of food was wide and it all looked great in the cabinet. I chose the pea and feta fritters, but they were disappointing as they were fairly tasteless, but the salad they came with was generous. My husband had the scrambled eggs which he said were ‘alright’. The coffee saved the day for me!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sue804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Stopped in for breakfast and not disappointed, this is a great cafe with plenty of character, inside and outside tables, good service, great menu selection for reasonable prices, good coffee. They have great porridge and nice choice of cakes etc.
Highly recommended for a snack or coffee.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing