We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
342
28
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
342
28
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef chris frank lloyd wright new zealand lake taupo manicured gardens other guests each morning dinner reservations our honeymoon every evening warm hospitality pre dinner drinks beautiful property two nights local knowledge guest rooms a wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2020

Higher end home stay / bed and breakfast style accommodation.
Food was amazing!
Hosts were welcoming.
We left with a tub of delicious trout pate.
Views of the lake from our room.
A great place for high achievers and hard workers to stay.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kellysT3060MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020

Wanting to escape from "real life" for awhile we booked into the Lake Taupo Lodge for three nights. It was a beautiful location with an amazing garden - appreciated your hard work Shirley - and lovely views of the lake. It felt like a real sanctuary. Gary was an attentive host and Chris was on hand to provide delicious food when required. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank renlasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

I stayed here with the wife just after we went to level 2 lockdown, It is such a beautiful place to stay at. The lodge has great facilities, a spectacular view of the lake, amazing gardens and the food by Chef Chris was absolutely amazing. Hosts Gary and Sherlie were very welcoming. I must add that the bed was super comfortable which is a major plus for me (Nothing beats a great bed). Would recommend to all.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James_Leofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

We stayed at Lake Taupo Lodge for a couple of nights in Aug 2020. It was a wonderful experience and can recommend to anyone who wants to have an amazing experience to book here. Gary is an amazing host and looked after us so well. He kindly booked and dropped us off to the local restaurants, which he recommended. Both were great. I would highly recommend staying here and hopefully we will get back here as well.
Thank you for a wonderful stay

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SueLarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 November 2020

Peter and Sue, thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to have met you both. I look forward to seeing you here again someday. Cheers, Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

In the middle of winter in Taupo, a golf trip not for the faint hearted. Taupo Lodge was a delightful sanctuary, warm and welcoming in a stunning setting with amazing views and the mountain did lift her skirts to show off.
What was even more stunning was the hospitality afforded by Gary. A beautiful glass of wine as soon as we settled into our more than comfortable room. He even washed the ice off the car windows in the morning, and in the evening drove us to town when we went out for dinner.
Food was outstanding, wine beautiful and plentiful, Gary was interesting to talk to and interested in sharing the background of the Lodge and the area. Quite a character.
Couldn’t have enjoyed the stay more.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gaespencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 November 2020

We were so pleased to have you and Rod stay with us Gae. I look forward to the day we can enjoy another glass of wine in good company. Thank you for you kind words. Cheers, Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews