We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$220
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Hotels.com
$198
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$183
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
499
128
14
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
499
128
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location across the road free guest laundry spa bath easy access town centre sky tv lake apartment motel balcony hosts kitchenette bedroom shore upstairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2024 via mobile

This location was excellent and provided fabulous access to the lake. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The window views were amazing. We walked to a couple of different restaurants. On-site laundry was beneficial. Outside patio was a definite plus.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 907JLeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over new year. Friendly host. Comfortable and clean room with house keeping each day. Guest laundry available for use which was great! Good location, short walk to town and just over the road from the lake! Would stay again!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank T7761DBlaurenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023

We had a one bedroom suite with a view of the lake. The living room had a sofa, table with four chairs, desk and an easy chair. The kitchen had a cooktop, mini-fridge, microwave, sink, dishes, utensils, pots and pans. The bedroom had a bed, nightstand and lamp on each side, and a closet. The bathroom had a toilet, sink, and shower. The place was mostly quiet.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elle989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2023

Terrible smell in the room. Could smell it before we got the door open. Smelt of fish. Had to go out and by deodoriser and fragrance candle which burned every moment in the room. Was hard to mask the smell. Asked for a discount on checkout to cover the cost of the fragrance candle. Was refused. The man didn't even empathise or apologise for the experience. Have stayed there before and found him rude. He needs to find a job that doesn't have customers. We won't be back.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Wta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Thank you for sharing.
What you have forgotten to mention was that you stayed 2 days in the room, and while there was an odour in the room which we have spent a considerable time to remove, you only mentioned it on check out,. We had other available rooms, right next door to you in fact which you could have moved into without the odour and given us a chance to remove the smell sooner. Really didn't appreciate the parting words that you will spread this review to every site that you could when we didn't have the chance to remedy the problem.
I am sorry you didn't like my demeanor, perhaps on a different day when you aren't demanding discounts for problems that could have been remedied you might find me more pleasant.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Ideally located opposite Lake Taupo on a fairly busy road. We had front room but we did not hear a thing. Very clean and comfortable, had all the facilities we needed and we had a very restful stay. Would recommend

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnandRobynL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

Thank you John and Robyn for your feedback.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews