We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
499
128
14
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
499
128
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location across the road free guest laundry spa bath easy access town centre sky tv lake apartment motel balcony hosts kitchenette bedroom shore upstairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2023

We had a suite, back bedroom and front area with small table and couch with plenty of kitchen stuff and bathroom in between. The unit was on a parking area set back from the road, which was an advantage, quieter, but then had little on no view. It all worked very well for us to make breakfast, or eat take away food . The management/staff were very nice and informative, and additionally worked with us, when we wanted to change plans and add a day. It would have gotten 5 stars, except the location, a mile or so from the downtown area with no restaurants of shops close by, meant you needed to drive to anything (except a walk on the lake front).

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank N7006JUtimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

Thank you taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the comments.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2023

Nice little motel right on the lake with a good view of it if you have a lake facing room. We came here on the spur of the moment as our booked accommodation was so awful. Friendly and accommodating reception. No complaints.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

Thank you.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

Comfortable, clean and welcoming. Just across the road ( which could be busy at times) from the lake. We enjoyed a swim! Room was well equipped. Free access to laundry facilities much appreciated at this stage in our tour. Reasonable distance from restaurants and supermarkets, but driving easy, and there was a good coffee van over the road!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2023

Thank you for the review we appreciate the comments.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2022 via mobile

The care & attention shown by the hosts add genuine value to a relatively ordinary set of apartments. They're set across the road from Taupo lake, some distance from the town centre, and initial impressions are modest. But a lot of care & attention has gone into little details such as blackout window blinds, cutlery, coffee, fresh milk & toiletries etc. Best of all is the fully equipped free laundry facility (including free detergent) - very welcome for anyone on a touring holiday!

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveSumnerSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

Thank you for the kind review.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2022

We stayed here for 2 nights. The service was great and the room was very nice with modern decor and a bit of a view over the lake (we didn't pay extra for a lake view room). The motel is about a 20 minute walk along the lakefront to the town centre, cafes and restaurants. Overall a good choice, definitely exceeded expectations.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahhD7216FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2023

Thank you Sarah.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews