We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$131
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Hotels.com
US$129
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$110
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$130
eDreamsUS$131
ZenHotels.comUS$129
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
489
119
14
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
489
119
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location across the road spa bath free laundry comfortable bed a great place to stay enjoyed our stay definitely stay here again town centre two nights short drive lake accommodation apartment motel balcony hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2021

Nicely located right opposite a swimming area on lake Taupo. Nice and friendly staff. Some of the light switches were upside down, not a big deal tho. We booked a lake view, room which it was, as long as no one was parked in the car park.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat-Mike059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

Me and a friend, booked in here as we had to attend a funeral down in Waiouru. It was late August, winter and we were well received as soon as we arrived at the reception. Our rooms were spotlessly clean. Fantastic views of the lake and central to Taupo shopping centre, bars and restaurants. But the cherry on the top was that the room was nice and warm, the heaters were turned on previously before we arrived.
Arthur and Karen were excellent hosts. We decided to stay another night. I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2020

Thank you Sharon for your awesome review.

Arthur and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020

A relaxing mid winter break at this well equipped motel. Lovely lake view from our unit.
Full kitchen - well equipped for us to cook dinner and enjoy the quiet. Heat pump worked well to warm the unit during a cold week . Beds were very comfortable . Welcoming staff.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CLM149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2020

Thank you for the review of our Motel.
We appreciate the feedback.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2020

The motel is located towards the south east end of the promenade on the lakeside about 25-30 minutes walk to the central area. There is parking in an inner courtyard and we got a space close to the stairway leading to our studio. Our room had a contemporary style and was very clean and well maintained.

On arrival in early afternoon we were quickly checked-in and the receptionist enquired about our plans during our short stay in Taupo. She was helpful in suggesting a cruise of the lake which sounded appealing and even booked it for us by phone for scheduled departure within 90 minutes - no time lost! (It apparently also included a motel discounted rate).

Our only criticism was the estimated walking time to get to the harbour which left us slightly overheated after a forced march which only got us there with minutes to spare until the boat's departure. (It took us about 30 minutes).

We booked a "Spa Studio" four months in advance at a rate of $225 for one night. The studio, on the first level, faced the road and Lake Taupo as we expected and from the small balcony we could see the mountains in Tongariro National Park in the distance.

We had a small kitchenette, spacious bathroom (spa bath and separate walk-in shower) and a generous sized bedroom/lounge area. There was good storage space.

The kitchenette had a hob, microwave oven, a fridge, sink, kettle (tea & coffee supplies) and a selection of crockery, glasses & cutlery. There was a small table and chairs in the lounge where we were able to have breakfast and although we ate out at night I expect it would have been feasible for the two of us to self cater.

Despite the proximity of the road, with the benefit of good double glazing and a comfortable king sized bed, we slept well and didn't notice any outside disturbance. There was also a bed settee and we found this comfortable to sit and watch television with a glass of wine later in the evening. (There was a good selection of channels). The room had air conditioning which worked satisfactorily.

We weren't there long enough to make use of the balcony which had a table and chairs but it was nice to have the option of opening the patio door for fresh air. Likewise the spa bath went unused during our stay - it looked tempting but we were conscious of the potential noise disturbance for other guests if we used this later in the evening.

The staff were helpful about use of the communal laundry facility and my wife managed to do a couple of loads to freshen up lightweight garments in between times. A clothes rack was provided as these items couldn't be tumble dried.

Overall we were pleased with the standard of accommodation, level of service and could easily recommend the motel to others.

We stayed in March 2020, prior to the Covid-19 lockdown.

Room tip: Spa studio had a clear lake view
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rantinrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2020

Thank you for the detailed review of our Motel , I almost want to stay there myself. We really appreciate the comments you have made and it's nice to be appreciated.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2020 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a family of four with a toddler and 5 year old. I must say, they really enjoyed their stay. We were located on the ground floor which was perfect, rooms were immaculate and kitchenette with hobs were a convinient addition. Beds were comfortable and plenty of linen and extra blankets. Our room was preheated by the owners which was very thoughtful and they gave us a discount for De Bretts hot springs. There was also a folder full of takeaway menus and we ordered from Dixies who deliver straight to your room! Their food was delicipus too ☺️thank you Sails for adding to whats been a fun family holiday experience so far.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank suesC3963OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2020

Thank you Sue for the awesome review.
It was a pleasure to host you and I hope we'll see you in the future.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews