We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
489
119
14
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
489
119
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location across the road spa bath great stay enjoyed our stay town centre short drive lake accommodation apartment motel balcony kitchenette nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2019

We have stayed at Sales On The Lake three times. The first stay was in late 2014. In February 2019 we hosted overseas guests and we booked two apartments. Our guests love the 2 bedroom premier apartment with view of the lake - very spacious, clean and modern. We went back in May and stayed in a one bed room unit. This will be our choice of accommodation in Taupo and will recommend to others for it's cleanliness, modern deco, space, location and good value.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kaiku72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsontheLake, Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2019

Our stay here was great, it had everything we needed and was not far away from the main centre. The view looking out onto the lake was amazing and certainly the highlight for me. The room was clean and cosy, and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Voyager23099275464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsontheLake, Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We appreciate you your wonderful comments.
I hope we'll see you again in the future.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019

Extremely nice motel unit with separate bedroom, lovely and clean, plenty of kitchen equipment, quiet location overlooking Lake Taupo, great value for money. Our second stay here and would definitely choose Sails on the Lake if we need accommodation in Taupo in the future.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rhonda and Phil... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsontheLake, Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Thank you for the awesome review, I hope you do decide to come back and visit us in the future.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019

We stayed in room 16. This is up at the back corner. The room has view out over the units in front and is high enough to give a great view of Taupo. The room was spotless to the extreme with nice touches to its presentation - so big thank you to the cleaning staff.

Room tip: Well worth the extra for spa bath. Thank you
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Road53271254372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsontheLake, Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.
I'll pass your comments onto the cleaning staff.

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2019 via mobile

Get the room facing the lake for a great view.
Pricing is on point and check in is easy.
However, the room was a tad dusty and if house keeping improves further, this will be a great place.

Just minutes to main dining area of Taupo.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JP07788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsontheLake, Manager at Sails On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.
I'm sorry the room was dusty, will be checking on my house keepers who are normally very good as per other reviews. Ultimately the responsibility is mine as I should be checking on them anyway, so I apologise.


Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews