We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$134
View deal
Booking.com
US$120
View deal
Priceline
US$127
View deal
Hotels.comUS$134
TravelocityUS$134
Trip.comUS$123
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
280
85
29
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
280
85
29
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub spa bath upstairs unit family room private balcony great room large bathroom min walk enjoyed our stay definitely stay here again view over the lake a lovely stay motel barry hosts lodge lakefront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

We loved our 4 night stay at Baycrest Lodge. We have stayed in Taupo a few times. This was our first stay at Baycrest and will definitely return. There is pretty much everything you need here. The owners and staff are wonderful. Comfy beds, great showers, WiFi and a beautiful heated outdoor pool with a side room with games and books etc.
Everything is super clean and well looked after. Our studio unit had a balcony which overlooked the lake. Only a couple of mins walk to the lake and 15 min walk to the main shopping area.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SusanT736
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Susan! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to host you next time your travels bring you to Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021

We were recommended this hotel and it didnt disappoint. We spent one night here after a few days camping on our way home and, it was great from the text before arrival re contactless check in to leaving the next day. Was nice to go straight to room and relax. We had a family room, it was huge. Plenty of space for us all to relax. Large bathroom, kitchen you could cook in and full dining table. Kids love the private spa in our courtyard. It also was very clean and tidy too. But the highlight had to be the heated pool, the kids loved it. There was a little room with tables, chairs by the pool if you wanted to hang out nearby too. We wanted to stay an extra night but was full but will definitely be back another time.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Paradise42644
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2021

Thank you for your feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2021 via mobile

Such a wonderful experience. The hosts are amazing and everything from start to end was top notch. The worst part of the stay was that we have jobs and had to check out.
The rooms are lovely, very spacious. The best feature is the spa in the backyard. Water heated naturally and you can just turn on the water and fill it up whenever plus its private so as a couple it was a plus point.
The room feels like freshly refusrbished and are really cleaning, full marks to housekeeping. I usually dont prefer cooking when on a holiday but the room had a kitchnette with all necessary appliances where you can cook all sorts of stuff.
I didnt use the outdoor heated pool but it looked amazing, not too big not too small just perfect according to the Lodge.
I can see a few reveiws regarding parking, i do admit the space is tight but i never had an issue parking the car and we had a Jeep. The lodge is not too big so doesnt matter where you park, you will always be close to your room.
Check in process was so easy, they sent me a map of the lodge with directions to my room and the keys there so they are doing a super job with the contact less service.
Check out was simple. Just drop your keys. Location is ideal, in city center, all the major restaurants are just in a 5 minute driving radius.
I would highly recommend this place and would like to thank the hosts for having us and taking such good care and making our stay memorable.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vibhayjitb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2021

Hi - thank you for your lovely words! We love to hear that our guests have had a fabulous experieince with us at Baycrest and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when your travels next bring you to Taupo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

Sitting on the balcony offered great views. The room was neat and tidy, and had everything you would need on a weekend away. Parking was a bit tight though. The heated pool was well set up and relaxing.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayPorter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Hi Ray - thanks for your feedback. We have a park for every suite however with our constant high occupancy the parking area can get over crowded! Luckily we have plenty of roadside parking that is well lit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

A spacious, private, quiet unit with a thermal hot pool in the small enclosed courtyard. Magic! Parking was a bit of an issue, as tradies vehicles made the parking area congested. The hot water which supplies the hot tub, also flows down into the lake, which is a short walk away. A well equipped motel - we'll definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi Sue - thank you for your feedback - great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thankfully our refurbishment is now complete with the new suites ready to be booked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews