We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting landscape

Took the kids (10 & 11 year old) here. It was interesting but they did run through really quickly... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2021
chardonnayl8a
,
Tauranga, New Zealand
Enjoyable experience

We hadn’t been here for many years and were delighted to see that there was a shop at the entrance... read more

Reviewed 26 March 2021
mike385
,
New Plymouth, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 1,952 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Taupo
from US$24.17
More Info
from US$24.17
More Info
from US$27.62
More Info
from US$79.41
More Info
Reviews (1,952)
Filter reviews
1,952 results
Traveller rating
682
701
410
107
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
682
701
410
107
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud pools steam vents geothermal activity steam coming interesting walk thermal area entrance fee great walk per adult hour walk worth a visit new zealand huka falls fumaroles landscape lookout track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,952 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

Craters of the moon provides a really up close looks at the local Taupo geothermal activity. They have a variety of areas with both small and large collections of vents, including quite a significant vent which pours amazing amounts of sulphurous steam.
We spent well over an hour walking around the site and those that wanted to spend a little longer could make good use of the picnic tables provided.
A good fun time and great for families.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank chumbles224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

On a bleak winter's day, this was a fascinating experience. The valley is definitely surreal with steam coming out of the landscape everywhere. The fumaroles are amazing, and the unique flora a joy to behold.
Not sure it was really worth the extra hike to the lookout point, but hey, it was all good, and $8 a head is pocket money these days.
Go and enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

My 11 year old daughter and I really enjoyed this walk and found it really informative. The walk is great for families and the top loop gives a great view. The big geyser is a must.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank Donnapostlewaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

We were disappointed and underwhelmed on our visit to Craters of the Moon. There were quite a few tourists over Easter doing what we did, walk around the boardwalks for 45mins looking at a few pockets of steam. We went to Orakei Korako last year and although it’s more expensive and further out from Taupo it was well worth it, so much to see. I felt we paid $8.00 just to have a walk at craters of the moon, had it been more than that I would have felt ripped off.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank fortunatefew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

We hadn’t been here for many years and were delighted to see that there was a shop at the entrance stocked with souvenirs. Very pleasant people gave us a map and explained the main features including safety. The $8 entrance fee is worth it.
A lookout building has info about the history and boardwalks along the entire journey make walking easy. We enjoyed seeing the thermal activity.
The toilet facilities are the best we’ve seen. Simply excellent.

Date of experience: March 2021
3  Thank mike385
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews