We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable experience

We hadn’t been here for many years and were delighted to see that there was a shop at the entrance... read more

Reviewed 26 March 2021
mike385
,
New Plymouth, New Zealand
via mobile
Good 1 hour walk

Great way to experience the thermal activity in Taupo. The walk is a reasonably flat track 45 min... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2021
meganstericker
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 1,947 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Taupo
from US$24.98
More Info
from US$24.98
More Info
from US$28.55
More Info
from US$82.07
More Info
Reviews (1,947)
Filter reviews
1,947 results
Traveller rating
679
700
409
107
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
679
700
409
107
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud pools steam vents geothermal activity steam coming boiling mud interesting walk steep climb thermal area walk takes entrance fee great walk per adult hour walk worth a visit walk around new zealand short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,947 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

On a bleak winter's day, this was a fascinating experience. The valley is definitely surreal with steam coming out of the landscape everywhere. The fumaroles are amazing, and the unique flora a joy to behold.
Not sure it was really worth the extra hike to the lookout point, but hey, it was all good, and $8 a head is pocket money these days.
Go and enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

My 11 year old daughter and I really enjoyed this walk and found it really informative. The walk is great for families and the top loop gives a great view. The big geyser is a must.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank Donnapostlewaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

We were disappointed and underwhelmed on our visit to Craters of the Moon. There were quite a few tourists over Easter doing what we did, walk around the boardwalks for 45mins looking at a few pockets of steam. We went to Orakei Korako last year and although it’s more expensive and further out from Taupo it was well worth it, so much to see. I felt we paid $8.00 just to have a walk at craters of the moon, had it been more than that I would have felt ripped off.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank fortunatefew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

We hadn’t been here for many years and were delighted to see that there was a shop at the entrance stocked with souvenirs. Very pleasant people gave us a map and explained the main features including safety. The $8 entrance fee is worth it.
A lookout building has info about the history and boardwalks along the entire journey make walking easy. We enjoyed seeing the thermal activity.
The toilet facilities are the best we’ve seen. Simply excellent.

Date of experience: March 2021
2  Thank mike385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021 via mobile

Great way to experience the thermal activity in Taupo. The walk is a reasonably flat track 45 min walk with optional 15 min extension which is quite steep but offers great views. Lots of information signs about the history, geothermal activity and vegetation. Lots of great lookouts to areas with high activity.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank meganstericker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews