We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable experience

We hadn’t been here for many years and were delighted to see that there was a shop at the entrance... read more

Reviewed 26 March 2021
mike385
,
New Plymouth, New Zealand
via mobile
Good 1 hour walk

Great way to experience the thermal activity in Taupo. The walk is a reasonably flat track 45 min... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2021
meganstericker
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 1,947 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Taupo
from US$24.94
More Info
from US$24.94
More Info
from US$28.51
More Info
from US$81.95
More Info
Reviews (1,947)
Filter reviews
1,947 results
Traveller rating
678
701
409
107
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
678
701
409
107
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud pools steam vents geothermal activity steam coming boiling mud interesting walk steep climb thermal area walk takes entrance fee great walk per adult hour walk worth a visit walk around new zealand short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,947 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2021 via mobile

This was our first visit. It’s an interesting place to visit, with good information about the historical aspects and geology.
Watching steam escaping from the earth was amazing!
The boardwalk tracks are suitable for anyone including pushchairs, then a couple of side tracks are short but steep.
There’s also a lovely gift shop.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank JoVJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2021

I love how this simple walk was created amongst such a terrain. A must visit for everyone to see how great our earth is. Then top it off with an ice cream on a hot day!

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank KathleenSMacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

I have gone there before but I went again and enjoyed it more because I was with family great adventure and walk

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Sebjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2021 via mobile

Wow, what an awesome experience we're still trying to get our head around all of this. So amazing, love the walk as you can go at your own pace. We were recommended by a friend to stop here and so glad we did.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank 441traceyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

Gotta go there... awesome experience with good history lessons as you walk the boardwalks... great on a cloudy day as very little cover or shade in most places,
Friendly and informative staff who "smile"

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank FarAway55663718948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews