We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful geothermals

Always eerie and somewhat other-worldy, this was a fascinating geothermal park. You can wander... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Sarah C
,
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Good Value

Pretty good value for what you get to do and see. 10 dollars for entry is pretty good. Get a half... read more

Reviewed 23 November 2023
TheWindedTraveller
Read all 2,018 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Taupo
from $49.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
from $135.00
More Info
Reviews (2,018)
Filter reviews
2,018 results
Traveller rating
710
722
422
110
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
710
722
422
110
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud pools steam vents geothermal activity steam coming nice walk steep climb walk takes per adult easy walk minute walk entry fee thermal park walk around huka falls fumaroles landscape sulphur
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 2,018 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2018

Its worth a stop if passing through from Taupo to Rotorua or vice a versa. It does look like the surface of the moon with craters and the gases coming out of them. Its a fascinating place with well laid out path and an easy walk of about 45 minutes. although there are no shelters on the entire walkway but there are some benches placed along to rest and enjoy the view around. The entry ticket is pretty decent too, only NZ $8 and a free car park. The place is pretty relaxed and never too crowded.
would recommend taking sun hat if visiting in summers.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank arsh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2018

The park itself is beautiful & worth a visit for the natural phenomenon with pretty reasonable tickets too.

However, this place is isolated by location with no protection/CCTV etc in their car park. Our car which was parked 8-10 meters from the entrance had its windows smashed & our luggage was stolen while we were in the venue.
I was then told this wasn't the first instance something like this had happened at that venue.
Apparently, no one noticed it & as usual Police weren't very helpful, despite us informing them of the current location of our stolen electronics with GPS in the devices. As we lost most of our belongings, the rest of the trip was spent getting our luggage/travel documents sorted out.

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank Mickster08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2018

A good value place to visit on the way from Rotorua to Taupo.You follow the walking tack around past various craters and steaming holes in the ground and end up with a view from the lookout - takes about 45 min. Entry admission is very reasonable compared to other places.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Amerson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2018

The landscape does look a bit like the moon! It is an easy park to visit and the entire walk is very manageable for most fitness abilities. We were disappointed to see that some previous visitors found it necessary to dispose of trash in some of the smaller craters.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank RenaB163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

We weren’t sure whether to go here as it wasn’t mentioned much on Trip Advisor but it’s fantastic! Well worth a visit if you have a spare hour for a walk in Taupo. The site is well laid out so you can walk around the thermal pools, steams, bubbling mud lakes etc. Recommend this!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 706ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews