We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy brioche donuts!”
Review of L'Arte Cafe

L'Arte Cafe
Ranked #8 of 45 Quick Bites in Taupo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted Lonely Planet's No 1 cafe pick for the Central North Island and one of the top 10 places to visit in New Zealand. L'Arte Cafe and Gallery is not to be missed when visiting Taupo. Allow yourself time to experience something very unique and special! A trip to L'Arte is a visual and edible feast and unlike anything you have experienced before. The cafe and gallery are both set in a magical garden, complete with an outside mosaic living room. The food and art at L'Arte's unique destination are both exquisite. Resident ceramic artist Judi Brennan's work is evident everywhere and is sold exclusively from the gallery at L'Arte. L'Arte Cafe serves Allpress coffee, has a wonderful selection of New Zealand wines and beers and the excellent service exceeds all expectations. With New Zealand's finest produce, L'Arte's kitchen team produce everything fresh on-site, from homemade bread to homemade pesto and onion jam. We have also created a small deli so you can take some of L'Arte home with you. L'Arte Cafe, Gallery and Garden is a special holiday experience that will stay with you .........
Reviewed 11 April 2022

Can highly recommend the brioche donuts! Friendly staff, nice setting, fun mosaics. Nice way to spend an hour on a Sunday morning!

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank StaceyCheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2022

The food is delicious and the surroundings simply fantastic! Mosaic everywhere. Fabulous green to wander around in and a gift shop if you fancy. We love this place.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trudimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

The tea and coffee was perfectly fine. The atmosphere was awful. Take earplugs if you’re sitting inside (unless you’re hard of hearing). The acoustics amplify all of the kitchen noise and unfortunately on our visit all we could hear was cutlery being thrown in the stainless kitchen sink as well as what seemed like every pot and pan being banged together. It was an awful experience and not a place we’d ever venture back to. The art gallery store has some lovely items but again our visit was marred by the very loud conversation taking place out the back. Overall verdict-it’s not worth the drive and there is much better coffee and cafe atmosphere to be found in town.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank L6629XFangelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

The scuptures, mosiacs and art were incredible and of such a high standard. There was also a little store to buy products. Such a wonderful experience however the GF and vegetarian food was extremely average in terms of quality and flavour. I would reccommend coming here to view the art but if you require GF, DF, vegan or vegetarian food, eat before you visit.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnDeereQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Best full farmhouse breakfast I’ve had and I’ve had a few I can tell you. Brilliant. Atmosphere and service just great. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Relax31406367610
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed L'Arte Cafe also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to L'Arte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.